Posted by: irenesroth | May 21, 2012

Day 1 of VBT Tour for WWC – Meet L. Diane Wolfe

The Beginning of an Idea

I was involved in a motivational training program many years ago. It involved an extensive reading program and I devoured hundreds of self-help, success, leadership, motivational, personality, and relationship books. The journey transformed me, and I went from shy and insecure to bold and confident. Before long, I was speaking at training meetings and even on stage in front of thousands of people.

Eventually I pursued my dream of being an author and began writing a young adult series. I infused the success principles I’d learned into my stories, focusing on a different aspect for each book. My goal was to inspire others.

I also began teaching seminars through the Small Business Centers of North Carolina’s community colleges. At first, I was teaching strictly instructional seminars, but an idea hit me for a motivational seminar. Using my years of training, I put together a goal-setting session entitled Overcoming Obstacles with Spunk. I covered what I found to be the five key principles of success: a positive attitude, good people skills, a healthy self-esteem, overcoming fears, and setting goals.

After a few months of success with that seminar, I realized I needed to write a book that tied in with my talk. I’d also just introduced a leadership seminar that was also based on the same principles. I realized that if I combined the two, I had the makings of a solid self-help book.

I took my notes from both seminars and combined them into one massive outline. Aware of the scope of what I was about to undertake, I decided I needed help with the project. I contacted several other authors who’d enjoyed success in this area and asked if they were willing to contribute to the book. Seven authors said yes, and I placed several chapters in their capable hands.

Three months later, I had a complete book. I’d also tapped many successful people from all walks of life for quotes, and those were sprinkled throughout the chapters. After many rounds of edits, Overcoming Obstacles with SPUNK was ready.

Released March 2009, it’s been one of my best-selling titles, especially at seminars. But the ultimate validation of my work came when the motivational training program that taught me those success principles ordered cases of my books. I was able to repay my debt of gratitude and help others!

L. Diane Wolfe
Professional Speaker & Author
www.spunkonastick.net
http://www.circleoffriendsbooks.blogspot.com
www.thecircleoffriends.net

Known as “Spunk On A Stick,” Wolfe is a member of the NSA and a motivational speaker. “Overcoming Obstacles With SPUNK! The Keys to Leadership & Goal-Setting”, ties all of her goal-setting and leadership seminar’s information together into one complete, enthusiastic package. She also conducts seminars on book publishing and promoting, and assists writers through her author services. Her YA series, The Circle of Friends, features morally grounded, positive stories that appeal to both teens and concerned parents. Wolfe travels extensively for media interviews and speaking engagements, maintains a dozen websites & blogs, and contributes to several other sites and newsletters.

 

OVERCOMING OBSTACLES WITH SPUNK!
THE KEYS TO LEADERSHIP & GOAL-SETTING
BY L. DIANE WOLFE

Non-fiction/Self-help, Dancing Lemur Press, L.L.C.

$13.95 Print ISBN 978-0-9816210-2-9

$1.99 EBook ISBN 978-0-9827139-2-1

Responses

  1. Hello Irene,

    Thank you for hosting Diane today! We appreciate your support.

    Hi Diane,

    I have your book and it’s earmarked and highlighted to the hilt. It’s an instrumental book that has helped me to get out of my own way! You are a true inspiration!

    Thank you!

    All the best,
    Donna

  2. It’s great finding out how you got started, Diane. That’s a motivational story in itself.

    Best of luck with your book and the rest of the tour!

    Warm regards,
    Mayra Calvani

  3. That must have felt amazing to have your books ordered by a place that had inspired you so much. Congratulations on all your success.

  4. Great article. I’m thinking your book might help me and I’m going to take a look at it.

    Joan K. Maze

  5. Great article. I’m considering buying your book as it seems like something that could help me.

    Joan K. Maze


Leave a Reply

Categories

