Posted by: irenesroth | April 23, 2012

Meet Terri Forehand

 About the Author: Writing has always been a part of who I am. I won a nursing essay contest three years in a row and decided I wanted to take my writing career more seriously. I took several writing courses through ICL and then took a writing boot camp with author and coach, Suzanne Lieurance. It was that boot camp that pushed me to begin the journey to publication.

The Cancer Prayer Book came about with an unplanned meeting with the publisher as I was looking for children’s books at our local book store. We began talking about the children’s books I was working on and she asked me to consider writing a prayer book for adults for her new publishing company. Of course I agreed.

As a nurse, working with both adults and children with cancer tugs at my heart. I admire the fight and the faith they display. It wasn’t until my husband had cancer at the age of 40 that I could relate on a personal rather than professional level to those doing this battle. It was with those personal and professional experiences that I wrote the prayers for The Cancer Prayer Book.

The book covers each leg of the battle from the beginning diagnosis and waiting, through the treatments, and the healing. It also contains a section on grief for those readers who must also deal with a poor outcome with the disease.

I continue to write prayers for future books. I am currently waiting the release of my children’s book The ABC’s of Cancer According to Lilly Isabella Lane sometime in 2012 and I am working on other books in that series as well as Lilly’s prayer book for kids. Children with cancer are so brave and have such a positive outlook on living that I feel compelled to write books that speak about the world they live in.

I continue to work as a critical care pediatric and neonatal nurse. I write from my rural home in Indiana which I share with my husband, 3 horses, 6 alpacas, and an array of rescue dogs and cats. We have grown children and several grandchildren that give me so much inspiration as well as endless ideas.

Thanks so much for being a visitor on my blog Terri.  All the best of luck to you and your writing career.

Please follow Terri’s tour tomorrow at  www.launchpadpublishing.com/apps/blog.

Responses

  1. Hi Irene, thank you for hosting day on the first day of her Working Writer’s Club virtual book tour.

    Hi Terri, what an inspirational book you have written and you so elegantly discuss in your guest post.

    Visitors, to learn more about Terri and to visit with her during her virtual book tour she will be stopping by Faye Levow’s blog on Tuesday http://www.launchpadpublishing.com/apps/blog.

    Wishing you all the very best,
    Donna

    • Hi Donna,

      It was fun!

      Irene

    • Thank you all for visiting, I have had some difficulty getting the responses to stay so I apologize in advance if I miss recognizing your visit. I appreciate being hosted here, Irene has a delightful blog.
      The prayer book is helpful and hopeful but does address one section on grief and dying as well. I tried to give it a well rounded feel for those dealing with this sensitive subject.
      Thanks again for visiting. It will be a great week.

  2. Irene thank you for hosting Terri. Terri I’m so glad to learn a little more about you. I’m sorry your husband was sick. We’ve all had this disease touch us in one way or another. I will look for your children’s prayer book. Good luck.

    • Hi Marge,

      Thanks so much for visiting!

      Irene

  3. Terri,
    This sounds like a wonderful book for someone who’s grieving.
    Carol

    • Thanks so much for visiting Carol.

      Take care,
      Irene

  4. Hi terri,

    Thanks for the guest post and for letting us know more about your life as a nurse and how you got into writing.

    I think your work with cancer patients is very noble. You must be a very dedicated and caring person. It must be hard.

    Mayra

    • Hi Mayra,

      Thanks so much for visiting.

      Take care,
      Irene

  5. Excellent post and so good to learn more about this book and you Terri. Thanks for hosting her Irene.
    http://www.billieawilliams.com

    • Thanks so much for visiting Billie!

      Irene

  6. What a difficult yet wonderful topic to write about! You are an inspiring and giving angel! I wish you success in you journey of writing. Thank you for giving all of us this book!

    Take Care,
    Kathryn

    • Hi Kathryn,

      Thank you so much for visiting!

      Irene

    • Thanks Kathryn, and Mayra it is difficult sometimes but very rewarding. I am looking forward to getting the children’s book out there so I can do more school interaction.

  7. Thanks, Irene. It was a pleasure being here. You have a wonderful blog and I know your readers love it here.

    • Hi Terri,

      It was a pleasure.

      Irene


Leave a Reply

Categories

