Posted by: irenesroth | September 20, 2017

The Christmas Tree that Nobody Wanted-BOOK REVIEW

The Christmas Tree That Nobody Wanted
By Jerry Rosenstein
Illustrated by Chad Thompson

This is a sensitive and inspiring story for children, as well as adults, that emphasizes the true meaning of sharing and helping the less fortunate. It is a story that will help children look beyond the commercialism of our time and more significantly, do something special during the Christmas holiday.

Jeffrey loved Christmas. The houses were decorated with sparkly tinsel and different-colored lights. Snow covered all the houses and trees in soft blankets of white. Jeffrey and his friends were very happy. Christmas was a great time of year to have fun by sliding down hills in the snow with their inner tubes and rubber mats.

This was an exciting and magical time of year. Carolers strolled through the neighborhood singing Christmas songs. Jeffrey’s mom baked her tasty holiday treats.

On Christmas Eve, Jeffrey wanted to go to the toy store with his dad. On the way, he noticed that a man was selling Christmas trees. One small tree in particular was so damaged that no one wanted to buy it.

Jeffrey had an idea. With the money he had saved, he wanted to buy the broken-down tree. When they came home, Jeffrey and his dad fixed the tree and added pretty decorations. Then they walked around the neighborhood looking for someone less fortunate whom they could cheer up with an unexpected gift—the repaired tree.

Suddenly, Jeffrey saw a homeless man under a bridge. He thought that this might be the person that could use some cheering up. Not only did Jeffrey make a less-fortunate person’s Christmas a real Christmas, but also the Christmas tree that no one wanted had a holiday home.

This is a wonderful story that is as endearing as it is meaningful. The theme of the story may be used as a platform for parents to discuss with their children that giving is often better than receiving. The illustrations are bright and colorful, bringing the true meaning of the story to life.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Advertisements
Posted by: irenesroth | September 6, 2017

The Guardian Aurum – Book Review

The Guardian of Aurum
By A.J. Behul

Headline: A story about overcoming the darkness of evil and finding light anew

This is a story that will keep the reader transported right to its climax and until the last page is turned. It is a story like no other that I have read. Usually stories of this type are very violent and cruel. But A. J. Behul has created just the right blend of good and evil and even the people who are considered dangerous have redeeming qualities at the end of the day.

There is so much negative around Aline. There is organized crime, violence, and lawlessness. Then there is the fluctuating price of gold. The situation around her is so unpredictable and it threatens to destroy the company and all the profit margins it enjoyed before.

Then there are the employee executions, kidnappings, extortions, and fraud everywhere she turns. It is a climate where no one can trust anyone and everyone appears suspicious and out of line.

If this isn’t bad enough there is the case of the forty-three missing students on the doorstep of one of the mines. No one knows where they got to and the whole company is sent into disarray.

Aline finds herself between maintaining her allegiance to the company and organized crime. She no longer knows what is right and wrong and she seems to be doing things that are truly out of character, transforming her from the holding of the Seraphim to the order of the Angelorum Lapsus.

Aline feels uncomfortable and has no idea where to turn. This can feel very disconcerting and we can all relate to this state of mind because most of us have experienced these types of feelings and clashes within ourselves from time to time. Can Aline overcome the darkness of evil and find light again or will she be banished to the Abyss forever?

The book ends on a positive note with a take on good and evil which I absolutely loved! A. J. Behul says that “there is light in the darkness just as there is darkness in the light.” Perhaps there is a light at the end of any tunnel of corruption and violence.

Rating: 5 stars

Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | August 1, 2017

Umwrapped Gifts by Michelle Anne Hawes

Unwrapped Gifts
Michelle Anne Hawes

This is a wonderful book about the gifts and treasures all around us during Christmas time and beyond. All we have to do is stop long enough to become aware of them. And this book will help the reader do just that.

This book is about the events of Marla Haines, a young woman who moves through some very difficult times by writing about her reflections. As the world crumbles all around her, writing became a powerful tool for working through these difficult emotions and putting them into perspective.

Christmas time can be quite busy for everyone. It is a time when we anticipate all the wonderful things of the season. We shop, cook and anticipate the arrival of Jesus Christ, our Saviour.

However, Marla discovered that there is so much more during Christmas that is important in life. There are unwrapped gifts and treasures that people give as a sign of love and compassion for one another.

These unwrapped gifts are friendship, kindness, generosity, gratitude, courage, compassion, and love. These are things cannot be bought by money and cannot be wrapped up and put under the tree but given freely to another person who may be having a difficult day.

Another theme that runs through this marvelous book is the importance of sharing our special moments with loved ones, whether it is making a cup of tea and really connecting with them or simply talking. There are so many gifts in moments like these.

This book will show the reader the true meaning of Christmas and how we should perhaps go beyond the consumerism of the time and dig deeper to discover the true meaning for the season. Buying gifts is nice. But connecting and loving as well as anticipating the birth of our Lord and Saviour are perhaps some of the best gifts of Christmas.

This book is truly inspiring. The photographs make the book brings home the message of love and compassion. It is a book that must be read and re-read for more depth and understanding.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | August 1, 2017

The Volume of the Book by Clement Butler

The Volume of the Book:
Insights into Rightly Dividing The Word of Truth
Clement C. Butler

This is a book that is educational, inspirational and empowering for all Christians. It is a book that will force you to rethink how you view the Bible—one of the most magnificent books in the world.

According to Butler, the Bible is not studied in a way that we can understand fully. Instead, the Bible is typically studied book by book. When we read the Bible in this way, we treat the Bible as if it were a recipe. This truncated view of the Bible takes away from a complete and in-depth understanding of the Bible.

Instead, we should study the Bible holistically. The purpose of
Butler’s book is to facilitate in this journey towards a better understanding of the Scriptures by viewing the Bible from a holistic point of view. The books of the Bible are not separate entities. Instead, the Bible is written by one author and it has one plan and objective. The Bible, therefore, has only one eternal purpose that of having sons that manifest the Father’s glory and the establishment of the kingdom of God. One of the aims of Butler’s book is to provide some insight into that purpose, coupled with the principles of rightly dividing the word of God.

However, since most of us grew up reading the Bible in this truncated book by book fashion, we will have to set aside the things that we have carried with us all our lives and open our minds and hearts to a new and more enriching way of understanding the Bible. Butler’s book will provoke and inspire you to read the Scriptures and in the process to get more and more understanding of them.

I find Butler’s book transforming and as a Christian it has propelled me to start re-reading the Bible with a new set of eyes and with a heart that is willing to understand the Bible in more depth.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

The Praying Pond
By Michelle Nadasi

This is a wonderful story for kids of all ages. It is about hope, God’s love, and the importance of trusting in God’s infinite love and protection for us.

Most adults don’t experience the faith that a child has. It is a blind faith that is so inspiring and empowering.

When nine year old Holly and her parents move to a new town, they are trying to find their place in the community. So, the first place that they venture into is the local church. It is there that Holly soon discovers why the pond that is behind the church is called the praying pond.

It takes quite a leap of faith to believe that ponds can deliver so much peace and that prayers can be answered if only we ask in faith. But children can see into that pond and connect with God. This is because they have a kind of blind faith that is so wonderful to witness.

This is a book that will stretch our minds and hearts and grow our faith, one chapter at a time.

I loved this story so much! It is so important for children to learn about the importance of having faith in God and in recognizing that God has a plan for each of us. All we have to do is believe.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | June 26, 2017

A book about love, life and profound blessings

Tending My Garden: A Celebration of Love, Life and Blessings
By: Jacqueline Miller Brown

This is a unique book about the many trials and tribulations as well as blessings that life has to offer. It is written in a wonderfully weaving poetic form that is filled with wisdom and honesty. Tending My Garden will inspire the reader to be so much more than she is now.

Life presents itself as a share of chaos and blessings. But so much of this world and our daily lives are painted in negative ways. We say and do negative things both to the planet and each other. This book will urge us to rethink all the negativity that we encounter and to be the voice of positivity and beauty in our lives.

Jacqueline Miller Brown believes that life is a garden. And family and friends are an intimate part of this garden. We have to nurture this garden and cultivate it so that it bears much good fruit.

We can do this by remembering the little things we take for granted such as the rain, sunshine, the beauty of flowers and the beauty of nature in all seasons. This world is a truly majestic place if we remember all the little things, turn off our technological devices and drink in the beauty that God has bestowed on us.

We get to honour God by taking each of these little things into consideration and give them their proper merit. And Brown honours God by using her writing to promote the word of God and inspire us to be our best to each other and ourselves.

The book is a treasure-throve of wisdom and inspiration. We are encouraged to celebrate love, our family, children, home, and each other. We must also celebrate milestones, discover strength and faith, and develop Christian values and celebrate blessings.

As a whole, this book will touch many souls and encourage us to see life much more positively and to live joyously despite the fact that life can present us with moments of distress, storms, and mistakes. May we rejoice and be glad every day.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Daniel & Destinee’s Epic Adventures: Trouble at Camillion Creek
By Deborah S. Martin

This is an adventuresome story for kids about the importance of courage and perseverance in solving any problems that we may have.

This story showcases two siblings, Destinee and Daniel. Both of them are off to camp. The story shows how Daniel with ADHD symptoms can learn team work and persistence. He can also learn how to courageously solve any mystery if he tries hard and keeps positive and upbeat.

Daniel and Destinee are at camp. While there, they encounter many different experiences. What child doesn’t enjoy all the fun and adventure that there is at camp. While at camp, Destinee gets to walk a thin line. She is scared. But Destinee conquers her fear and keeps on walking on the thin line because everyone was cheering her on.

This book shows how friends can cheer each other on to be their best. It also shows how Daniel can excel by being in the midst of positive friends who believe in him.

I loved this story! It is beautifully written. The words and sentence fit together with flare and they will definitely excite the young reader to keep reading the book until the end.

The book should be read by all kids who experience fears and a lack of self-confidence. In addition, kids with ADHD symptoms will also find this book very inspiring.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | May 16, 2017

Have you Seen Henry? Book Review

“Have You Seen Henry?” is a delightful picture book for children about the importance of friendship in our daily lives. This charming story takes place within a community of animals, which includes the main characters, Henry and Henrietta Possum. Life is quite predictable and wonderful for the married couple until one day Henry disappears. Henrietta sets out to look for Henry and during the search, many of her friends and neighbors join her in hopes of finding him. They search throughout the neighborhood looking for Henry everywhere. They look for him at the park, the local market, the Root Beer Shop and many other places. Did Henrietta and her neighborhood friends ever find Henry? “Have You Seen Henry?” shows the power of friends and neighbors coming together in a time of need. The story will appeal to children of all ages and is filled with brilliantly, colorful illustrations that bring out the important message of the story. “Have You Seen Henry?” has many educational qualities and should be read by teachers and parents, as well as children.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | April 17, 2017

God’s Eternal Purpose by Clement C. Butler

God’s Eternal Purpose: The Establishment of God’s Kingdom
By Clement C. Butler

Is this life all there is? Or, can we look forward to eternal life?

As human beings, we need to know that we are part of something bigger than ourselves. And we are all always in search of something that is higher and bigger than ourselves so that we could be enlightened.

However, as human beings, many times we misunderstand God’s true purpose for us. We want to be independent beings doing our own things without worrying about anything else. We don’t want others to tell us what to do. This attitude of independence can take us very far from God and his ultimate purpose for us.

God has a cohesive plan for each of us. His purpose has not changed for us. What we have to do is to accept and embrace his purpose in our lives and to live as God wants us to live so that we can get all the gifts that are bestowed to us by God. God is the ultimate orchestrator of our lives.

We must never think that we have no value to God or that we are insignificant. All we have to do is to reflect on the specific details involved in our existence as noted in creation. Man was made to resemble God and was therefore a representative figure to look and function like God on earth.

This book will take the reader on a journey through the Scripture, underscoring the fact that the world of God truly is a marvelous arrangement which carefully outlines and orchestrates His purpose throughout the ages. This book will provide a step-by-step guide of the purpose of God in Scripture for each one of us.

This book will also make the reader ponder about the true meaning of his life in the greater whole and to reflect on how he could really fulfill God’s purpose instead of seeking his own finite purposes—ones that are not pleasing to God.

This is the first volume on God’s Eternal Purpose. This book establishes a foundation regarding the perpetual plan of the Father. I can’t wait to read the second volume in which there will be even more emphasis on the identity of the kingdom, the development of the sons of the kingdom, and the ultimate inheritance of the kingdom.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | January 24, 2017

If Only I Could Ignore You

61p5rxbl-fl1This is a wonderful picture book for kids about how to like themselves and include everyone.

This story opens with a little boy who loves waking up in the morning because his Mom kisses and tickles him. He also loves having breakfast with his dad and brother. But as the average day starts and he has to go to school he becomes unhappy.

He loves school, and he wants to learn. But his efforts are stifled because a kid makes fun of him. If only he could ignore him.

He is not the only target of this bully, other kids are picked on as well.

During recess time the kids who are picked on by the bully, are playing together. They don’t care that their clothes don’t fit right or if someone is chubby or don’t fit into the mold of the bully.

As the kids are laughing and playing with one another they notice the bully sitting alone looking sad, the kids invite him to play with them.

This is a great picture book with a very important message. We are all beautiful, but in our own unique way, and there’s always room for another friend.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Older Posts »

Categories