Posted by: irenesroth | May 2, 2016

Handing Out Life By Todd A. Biermann

41tI1VAhjNL._SS300_[1]Handing Out Life:  The Simple Way to Rewarding Relationships in All of Life

Todd A. Biermann

This is an important book about relationships. Relationships give our lives meaning, and yet they are so complicated to develop, maintain and thrive in. Biermann dispels the mystery of forming relationships in this highly informative and engaging book.

Given our enthrallment with technology over the past decade, face-to-face connection and relationships have started to suffer very seriously. We seem to be lonelier than ever before, and we find it hard to form healthy and meaningful relationships. We have to make sure not to lose control of our relationships to have a meaningful life. But how can one do this when we have somehow lost the skills for forming meaningful relationships?

Perhaps a good place to start would be with our relationship with God. If we have a good relationship with God, our whole life will be positively influenced. However, if we don’t have a solid relationship with God, our life will be negatively influenced.

Further, if we develop a relationship with God, we can then have a blueprint for how to form relationships with others too. This is because through our relationship with God, He teaches us about relationships. Further, by entering into a positive relationship with Him, we experience freedom from our failures and gain hope for our future. He will give us a fresh start that we need to carry on.

Biermann argues that the Bible has a lot to say about marriage and love. And from that is the key to how we are to develop, maintain and nurture all of our relationships. There is one key part of the Bible that simplifies relationships and everything follows from that. I will leave it to the reader of Biermann’s book to determine what this passage is.

I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in human relationships and especially for someone who feels she lacks the skill to develop and maintain long-lasting relationships.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | April 15, 2016

Melania Trump: The Inside Story

51WfZb9ZOML._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_[1]Melania Trump: The Inside Story
By Bojan Pozar & Igor Omerza

This is a wonderful book that is both informative and inspiring about a shy and skinny girl from Slovenia who may be the new First Lady in the United States. The book reads like a fairy tale. But it is a true story which illustrates that it is not where you start that counts but where you end up.

Everyone thought she was Russian. But she is actually from a small town in Slovenia, a country that most Americans never heard of. Her story is one that is full of coincidences and events that should have never come together although they did.

Melanija Knavs comes from a humble socialist Slovenian family that knew nothing about living the elite life. Melania was never a great student. She didn’t go Harvard or Oxford. She was a very average student. Neither was she a supermodel or a successful businesswoman. Yet today, as she approaches her forty-sixth year, she is one of the richest Slovenians of all time.

Melania never had a career but her story is nonetheless a success story like no other. We know so little about Melania Trump. But this book will tell you everything about her. The book discusses information about her origins and roots, facts regarding her mother and father’s profession in Slovenia, precise information about Melania’s education, her former lovers from Slovenia, how Melania became a successful model only after she met Donald Trump, why Donald Trump still hasn’t seen Melania’s birthplace, and so on.

But there are all the naysayers too. Ivana Trump doesn’t think that Melania is qualified enough to be a First Lady. But Melania believes otherwise. Melania Trump is a very ambitious woman who can take on that important role, if Donald Trump becomes the new president of the United States.

I loved this book from beginning to end. It is a book that should be read by all young women and teen girls.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | March 28, 2016

A Magical and Unique Novel with Latin Flare

41fPDjATYyL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_[1]Kidnapped Innocence
Rebeca Gomez Galindo
 
    This is a unique novel with a sad premise. It is always sad when a young college girl gets kidnapped. The story has positive overtones too which makes for a very balanced read for both the younger reader and adults.
    Life for Ximena Villarreal is wonderful. She seems to have a good future to look forward to. But she always feels that something is missing. Life is boring and predictable for the most part. She would never dream that her life could be changed so fast and much for the worse.
    Ximena gets kidnapped and her life is thrown into a whirlwind of unpredictability and danger. Alejandro Montalban, her cousin who has been the black sheep of the family for many years, decides to put his heart and soul into finding Ximena. They had a history of saving each other from life’s ups and down, but now it seems that he is put to the ultimate test.
    Can Alejandro find Ximena and save her from the destructive hands of the kidnappers? Or has he lost his cousin forever? This is his chance to shine and make himself proud. But can he do it?
    I loved this book from beginning to end. 
    Thank you Rebeca Gomez Galindo for such a wonderful book! I can’t wait to see more of your books in the future.
Rating: 5 stars
 
Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth
Posted by: irenesroth | March 10, 2016

An Inspiring and Hopeful Book for All Ages

51fAaPQnitL._SS300_[1]Bible Bikers: Live Ridin’ on the Road to Redemption:
The Live Ride Ministry and Motorcycle Club
By: Michael Gotz

This is a unique book that is inspiring, courageous and down to earth. Its theme is that it is possible for any of us to overcome great difficulties and character defects, if we are only willing to do so and have the courage and bravery to try. What a GREAT message for all of us.

Many people believe that if they have done a lot of wrong things in their lives and have gotten to places that they should not have been that life is pretty well over. Through the stories of transformation in this book, Michael Gotz shows us that this is not the case. There is always hope and room for transformation through the Live Ride Ministry and Motorcycle Club.

Who would think that you could take God on the road and show others how to become a good and honorable people. This book documents how Christian faith worked hand-in-hand with great personal effort to turn people with very unproductive and criminal lives into fine citizens.

The men interviewed in this book, came to their faith by different means. But they are bound together by inspiration and the glue of Pastor Rick Fish. He is the leader, mentor and founder of the Live Ride Ministry and Motorcycle Club. He is their guide to a new life. But things were not always easy for him in the beginning either. This is why he knows first-hand what these men are going through and how hard it is to transform into a worthy person.

The members of both the Live Ride Motorcycle Club and the Live Ride Ministry tell their stories in their own words. And Gotz records these words faithfully, word for word. Some of these stories are raw and disturbing. But the honesty with which they are told will be felt by all readers. These stories will also inspire readers to strive to be their best, regardless of their backgrounds.

I really enjoyed the book. I love to see human lives saved and transformed for the better. And Gotz shows us over and over again that it is possible to do this, one courageous action at a time through the Live Ride Motorcycle Club and the Live Ride Ministry.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | March 2, 2016

Keys to Recover Your Power by Yehudit Lev

81YBW-CgKFL[1]

Keys to Recover Your Power
By: Yehudit Lev

Keys to Recover Your Power is a must-read for people who have struggled with low self-esteem issues and are looking for a way back to a place of self-love and self-empowerment.

This book offers several keys to discover the personal power that they thought they lost. The good news is that we can all recover our personal power by learning to be happy and resilient from the inside-out. And this book will take us through these crucial steps.

How many of us feel insignificant and lacking in self-confidence? When we lack self-assertiveness and self-esteem, we make wrong choices and attract the wrong people and situations into our lives, creating a lot of suffering. Yehudit Lev shows us how to transform ourselves and to finally be able to thrive, with or without the approval of others.

Throughout the book, Lev examines physical, mental, spiritual and emotional keys to self-transformation. In each of these keys, Lev offers sound advice to all those who are trying to empower themselves to be the best that they can be. By reading this book and taking a few steps in the right direction, we can all feel happier and more fulfilled.

This is a book that cannot be read in one sitting and then put on a bookshelf and forgotten. It is a book that I will be referring to over and over again. I will also be encouraging all of my friends to purchase the book so that they too can get on the path to self-transformation.

Thank you for such a GREAT book! I love inspiring and empowering books for men and women alike. Your book is like a breath of fresh air on a warm spring day.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | February 15, 2016

A Wonderful Book by Nicole Unice

41-Anhhlg4L[1]Brave Enough:
Getting Over Our Fears, Flaws, and Failures to Live BOLD AND FREE
By: Nicole Unice

This is a wonderfully inspiring book for all Christian women. I believe it will change how you feel about yourself and your situation, regardless of where you find yourself.

Few women have the courage to be who they are and not who we wish we would be because of social and family pressures for us to be anything else but who we are. So, women have shied away from being brave and bold and living their life as God wants them to. Jesus says many times in the Bible, Do not be afraid! Yet, we are VERY afraid to be who we are and to do some of the things that will help us feel complete and whole as human beings so that we could be our best for our family and friends.

Nicole Unice’s book is an absolutely gem. In her book, she believes is that courage is the surprising virtue that we should all try to cultivate. Each of our lives needs courage and we need to lose our fear. Brave Enough is an invitation for women to experience life with courage. This book is about opening our eyes to the ways that God is calling us to move beyond our fears into boldness and courage. It is an opportunity to taste the sweetness of grace in new ways and to discover how God’s love for us changes everything: how we think, feel, act, and respond to our daily lives.

If you have felt that your life is too small, too confining, too complicated, or too broken to be adventuresome, then this book is for you. We don’t have to acquiesce in having a life that is confining and constricting. That is not what God wants for us. He wants us to be at our best, one moment and one day at a time.

So, if you aren’t brave enough to receive grace and to listen and act on God’s voice, it is time that you read Nicole’s book and give yourself permission to get out of your confining mole.

Thank you Nicole for such a GREAT book!

Rating: 5+ Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | February 4, 2016

Churchless: A Review for Tyndale

41CZBbdhgXL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_[1]This is a wonderfully reflective and inspiring book about the growing number of churchless people in North America. It is a book that will open the mind of those who are churched and will encourage them to actually live in such a way that will inspire others to come back to church.

What causes people to stay away from church? What makes them feel welcomed and willing to engage? Our world is changing and so are the answers to these questions. Until we understand these reasons, how can we help the unchurched return to the church?

The churchless have always felt estranged from the churched individuals. They feel like they are lost and like outsiders by the churched. But why is this? Well the authors have done a lot of research through the Barna Group into this question and they have written a book that will help the churched realize how the churchless feel.

In my work as a minister of Hospitality at my local church, I see first-hand what some of the reasons may be that the churchless don’t want to go to church. There is so much lack of connection between the parishioners and there is a hypocriticalness that is hard to ignore. Many of the churched come to church simply to fulfill an obligation. Many of them don’t have a relationship with God.

Also, what is really absent in the church today is a sense of God. It seems like he is absent somehow, yet that is precisely why the churched want to go to church. This got me thinking long and hard about the authenticity of Christians. What are our motives in church, and why do we insist on going to church if our reasons for going are more out of obligation and meeting our friends in the pews that it is to connect with God and develop a closer relationship with him?

But what is more, how can we bring the churchless into the church if we lack authenticity ourselves? It would seem that we would have to fix our reasons for going to church first, and then reach out to the churchless and bring them into a place that will help them flourish and be the best that they can be. But until we really connect with God and become authentic Christians, we have no hope of inspiring anyone else either.

This book has made me rethink why people go to church and why I do if even praying in church becomes hard because of all the noise that is in church before, after and during mass.

Thank you David Kinnaman and George Barna for making me think through some of these difficult issues. I will be writing about the authenticity of Christians very soon and will be in touch.

I received this book compliments of Tyndale Publishers Ltd.

Rating: 5+ Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

 

Posted by: irenesroth | January 29, 2016

The Madonna Vigilante

The Madonna Vigilante
By Aabra and Russ Heitz

This is a fast-paced novel that will keep you guessing what will happen until the end. The theme of the novel is quite unique and unlike any murder mystery of this kind that I have ever read.

The story is about Sara Marshall. She is the daughter of many generations of Philadelphia cops. But despite her lineage of pride and good works through her family, she makes a big mistake while trying to save another cop. She kills a young black female. This creates a huge uproar between the Philadelphia Police Department and the city’s very large black population. But while all of this is happening to Sara, her career crashes as well as her love life and her relationship with her family. It seems that everything that can go wrong has indeed gone wrong. As a reader, I felt truly sorry for her.

Prior to her dismissal, Sara was investigating several murders that she thought were committed by the same individual. Yet the people who were dead didn’t seem to be connected in any way. Each victim was a man, and each person was executed with one bullet to the head. Each person who was killed had a Bible quote pinned to his body. If this wasn’t bad enough, the media realizes that all the notes were written in lipstick. So, they assume that all the murders were committed by a woman who they quickly labelled the Madonna Vigilante.

So, who is the Madonna Vigilante? How can she hate men so much that she would murder two religious men in addition to her other suspects? The final answer to this question comes in the form of a confrontation on a major highway in Philadelphia. The highway has a nickname called the Sure-Kill Speedway. Can it live up to its nickname?

I loved this novel, and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in crime stories. It is a story that will keep the reader reading until the end.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | January 29, 2016

A GREAT Children’s Book About God

51T77hxZc5L[1]OMG! How Children See God
By Monica Parker

This is a great book for kids about a very important topic: God! It is a book that can be read by kids of all ages and young tweens as well.

It is a book that will capture the attention of kids who have always thought about God but never could put into words what and who God was. With so many different religions and beliefs, it is interesting to see how kids think and feel about God. After reading the book, parents will definitely be able to start a conversation about God with their kids.

Given our distracted culture, it is easy for kids to be brought up without God. But this book will show kids and parents how to foster this love for God—someone who is beyond the busyness of our daily lives and who can give us meaning to our lives.

By writing this book, Monica Parker hopes that these conversations about God throughout the book will help kids to answer some difficult questions about God, faith, heaven and that other place. The kid’s responses in the book are absolutely refreshing and extraordinary. Monica has done an incredible job of showcasing their points of view in this interactive and colourful book.

Thank you Monica Parker for such a wonderfully thoughtful and reflective book about a topic that kids are curious about but never have the courage to ask too many people about. It is an important book that every child should read.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | January 28, 2016

A Wonderful Novel

51ZuPs5SB5L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_[1]An Invincible Summer
By: Betta Ferrendelli

I usually don’t like to read legal dramas as a rule. However, this book surprised me in that it was well-written, about a very important topic, and about someone who I really started caring about: a teenaged girl who has a severe mental disability. Who knows! I may start reading in this genre as well.

I am quite partial to teenage girls. And this is especially the case for teenage girls who are severely mentally disabled in any way. It seems that life for a girl with severe mental disabilities is very brutal. This is especially the case if the mother and legal guardian of the girl are seeking to have her forcibly sterilized! There is something about the whole sterilization thing which is really wrong on so many levels. Can Jaime, a promising young lawyer with the Denver District Attorney’s office help her?

As Jamie is covering this case, it starts to affect her personal life. She even over steps ethical boundaries by befriending Leigh Roberts, a reporter for a Denver daily newspaper who is covering the trial. The lines continued to blur as the lawyer looks not only to help the young woman but to clear her own conscience over a childhood death she could have prevented. Will Jaime decide to turn her back on her promising career to fight for a few worthwhile and highly sensitive issues?

Readers will wonder what will happen until the last page. This is a great legal drama, one that can’t be read slowly but quickly and in one or two sittings.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Older Posts »

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers