Posted by: irenesroth | December 17, 2016

The Yoke: By Darrell Dunham Book Review

51bq1x0gk5l-_sx331_bo1204203200_1The Yoke
By Darrell Dunham

This is a wonderful story about the importance of faith, love, forgiveness and redemption. It is a book that is geared for the Christian who feels pulled between the forces of the world and his faith. It will show the reader how to keep believing in a world when unbelief is the norm.

The story is about Barnabas Mitchell. Life was always difficult for him. His father abandoned him when he was young and his mother died when he was very young, turning him into a very vulnerable boy who became quite suspicious of people. But he also had a crisis of faith in those days wondering how God can allow so much to happen to him that was bad.

Barnabas continued onwards, trying to get through life. But he never really dealt with his griefs first-hand. There is nothing worse than having so much bad happen to a boy at such an early age.

Then Bill Cushman entered his life. He was tall, good-looking, athletic and from a very influential family. Bill had a very different upbringing from Barnabas. Bill was accustomed to getting his way in life. He even used people for his own gain. So when Barnabas came along, he was wanted him by his side. Barnabas just couldn’t get Bill out of his life, no matter how hard he tried.

Then he encountered a young woman in law school who he was quite attracted to. Stephanie Schultz was pretty, smart, strong, and a believer! Stephanie admired Barnabas but she wanted him to be more faithful. So, she was determined to help him reignite his faith.

As a lawyer, Barnabas was respected by his peers. He was quite successful and when his biggest case came, one that rivaled Bill Cushman, Barnabas knew he had to find a way of save his clients from Bill’s attempts to steal what was most precious to them. In the process, Barnabas must decide whether or not to reclaim his faith or to go with the flow.

I loved this story from beginning to end. It will show the reader how important it is to follow God’s way, because he will unburden us and make sure that our yoke is easy and our burden light.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful book with a strong message!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | December 13, 2016

Zandi Finds Ubuntu–Book Review

Zandi Finds Ubuntu
By Dr. Tererai Trent and Lori Grainger
Illustrated by: Diane Lucas

This is a wonderful picture book for kids about how to live a life filled with friendship, hard-work, loyalty, trustworthiness and determination. It is what makes the world a better place.

Zandi loves nature. She marvels at the trees and loves to watch life unfolding. She also sees a lot of colourful birds and snakes. She especially loves to sit beneath the baobab tree.

“Zandi also loved the animals that she encountered on her walks home and the sweet scent of the savanna. On one walk, she encountered a herd of stripped zebras grazing together with the wildebeest. They all seemed peaceful and got along with each other. They also protected each other. The friendship they shared reminded her of her own village.”

As she walked further towards her home, she encountered four pairs of monkey eyes looking at her from a mukute tree. The monkeys all seemed to get along too and they were a loving family. Zandi encountered a few other animals along the way home and they always seemed to get along together and were peaceful.

As she approached home, Tiger, her dog woofed at her. He missed her. Tiger was a loyal and trustworthy friend. When she came home, Grandma Gogo was calling for her. She was late and the cattle had to be herded back to the kraal.

Finally at the end of the day, under the bright moon, the whole family sat around an open fire and listened as Zandi shared her exciting day on the savanna. When she had finished telling the family everything that she saw, Grandma Gogo was so excited because Zandi discovered the true meaning of Ubuntu. To achieve Ubuntu you must be a friend to all, protect each other, and care for everyone you meet. That is where true happiness lies.

What a wonderful picture book for kids about an important message. It is a theme that is much needed today in our world where happiness is sought in all the wrong places.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | December 13, 2016

Money Doesn’t Grow on Trees by Tony Bland–Book Review

cover-for-blandMoney Doesn’t Grow on Trees
By Tony Bland
Illustrated by Chad Thompson

This is a great picture book for kids about the world of business. It is a story about family involvement and the impact that words have on a child’s mind.

This book is about a curious little boy who overhears a conversation between his mom and his older sister. Mom told his sister that money doesn’t grow on trees. This intrigued the little boy and made him wonder about what that meant.

So, he decided to ask his favorite teacher, Ms. Wilson at school. When the opportunity came in class, the boy put up his hand and asked “Can you help me list all the ways that money can grow?”

Ms. Wilson was intrigued by the question. After class, she asked the boy: “Where have you seen money?” The boy pondered for a while and came up with his very own list of where he has seen his parents give money.

I loved this book and will be recommending it to my friends. What a valuable book for kids!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | December 2, 2016

About Brit Jones’ Hobbies

9781612444765Hi again Brit Jones!  What an honour to have you here on my blog!

Please tell us about your hobbies.

When I am not writing, I enjoy hiking, live music, and working out. I also spend as much time as I can with my son.  I never envisioned myself as a writer until I recognized a need to become one.  I see now that my extended stay in the restaurant business was necessary in order to realize this book.  I hope that others will see the value in it.

“If you love life, then don’t waste time because time is what life is made of.” –Bruce Lee

It would be a privilege to have coffee with Bruce Lee. I respect his discipline along with his wisdom.

I see myself as a sensitive and caring person. I am pushed forward by a constant internal question of, “how can this be better?” I strive for constant improvement in all my dealings with those I care for and myself.

Thank you Brit Jones for being here on my blog this week!  It was a lot of fun getting to know you and your writing.

I look forward to keeping in touch with you in future, and I certainly look forward to reading your next book!

All the best of luck in your writing career and as a professional waiter!

 

Posted by: irenesroth | December 1, 2016

Crossing the Waters: Review for Tyndale Book Publishers

514brbz7el1Crossing the Waters
By Leslie Leyland Fields

This book is a very interesting read! It is a book that will capture the reader’s attention from the beginning to the end.

Many of us have a difficult time to follow Jesus through all the storms of our lives. Through the stories contained in this book, the author shows us how to do that, one story at a time.

Leslie Leyland Fields is a fisherwoman in real life. So, she knows so much about the waters, especially around Alaska. It would be a cold place to fish, but very picturesque, I bet!

The gospels are quite dramatic, wild and wet. They are set in a rich maritime culture on the shores of the Sea of Galilee.

We must remember that Jesus’ first disciples were fishermen. I had no idea that this may be the reason why there are so many references to fishermen in the gospels.

Many of Jesus’ miracles and messages focus around water, fish, fishermen, net-breaking catches, sea crossings, boat-sinking storms, and even a walk on the water.

This world seems so foreign to us, even true Christians and Catholics. We have therefore missed much about the disciples’ experiences and about following Jesus. There was a huge gap there and now they are filled in with this wonderful book!

Leslie Leyland Fields crosses a lot of historic time and history to take us out on the Sea of Galilee and through a rugged season of fishing with her family in Alaska and also through the waters of the New Testament!

I loved this book from beginning to end!

I received this book compliments of Tyndale Publishers Ltd.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | December 1, 2016

About Brit Jones’ A Waiter’s Companion

9781612444765Hi Brit Jones!  Welcome back to my blog!

Can you tell us a bit about your book?

A Waiter’s Companion is a book designed to fill the niche between what a restaurant employer’s desire in a server and the difficult task of gaining useful experience as a server new to the business. There are numerous suggestions and guiding principles designed to elevate a new server’s hospitality mentality.

Although this book’s audience is young people new to the restaurant business, it is my hope that restaurant owners and managers will discover the value of making this book required reading for all of their servers. Their benefit will become evident in the increase their bottom line as they give their staff the necessary information to create more positive dining experiences in their restaurants.

Publisher: Halo Publishing International

Email:wcbrit461@gmail.com

Website address: www.awaiterscompanion.com

This book is available for purchase on Amazon, Barnes and Noble.com, and on Kindle.

A Waiter’s Companion makes a great gift for anyone you may know who is waiting tables. Whether a son, daughter, or grandchild, this book will undoubtedly contribute to their success and confidence.

Thank you so much for inspiring my readers with your wisdom! 

Readers please be sure to visit again for one more day about Brit Jones tomorrow!

 

Posted by: irenesroth | December 1, 2016

Brit Jones Office Space

9781612444765Hi there Brit Jones!  It is GREAT to have you here on my blog again.  Can you please describe your office space and writing life.

My creative process involved assembling hundreds of notes I had made over many years while at work. I jotted down many observations over countless days waiting tables.  Once I decided to begin the process of creating a book, I collected all the notes and assembled them in a Word document.

From there, I sorted the information by common subject matter. This is where the chapters began to take shape.  It was my intention to keep this book concise and to the point, without fluff.  Much like how college professors repeat themselves to emphasize important information, I too have done the same in this book to drive home the most important of the guiding principles discussed.

My most inspired moments occur in the morning. It is during that time in between sleep and full wakefulness where the most inspired ideas bloom.  I have a large dry erase board in my room so, when inspiration strikes, I can promptly jot down the idea before it drifts back into the ether.

 

Posted by: irenesroth | November 30, 2016

A Waiter’s Companion – Book Review

9781612444765This is a unique book about the hospitality industry. In today’s day and age, hospitality has lost its value. With so much egoism out there, the desire to learn how to properly serve others seems to have been lost amongst the flood of information in which we find ourselves. At its core, a dining experience should be enjoyable for the guest, and good service should leave them with a memorable feeling.

Brit Jones has spent years serving in many different kinds of restaurants. During that time, he discovered that there are definite principles of excellent hospitality. Although there is an artistic component to being in the service of others, it is also based on certain stable principles that, once mastered, can help servers gain confidence by developing awareness, technique, and insight to fully grasp the nature of great service.

It takes time, and trial and error, for new servers to determine how to best serve guests. Brit Jones makes things easier for all servers by outlining the principles of hospitality. By mastering the principles laid out in his book, the reader can save him/herself years of hardship and difficulty.

Servers tend to forget just how important they are to the restaurant’s success. Without good service, customers won’t come back. So, it is crucially important for servers to gain the confidence through experience and guidance to do their job well. They must remember that for each table that they wait on, they are the restaurant for them that night. One can always find good food. However, good service is far less common, and it is this that will encourage people to come back to the restaurant again and again.

This book is written for both the novice and those who have more experience. There is always more to learn for a server to become more successful in their work.

Aside from servers, this book is relevant to anyone in the service industry– restaurant managers, hostesses, bartenders, and chefs, as well as the experienced diners, or foodies, and anyone who is interested in what constitutes excellent service.

I loved the book and will be recommending it to my friends. They all love to eat in good restaurants. But many of them don’t know what truly good service is. This book will fill an important gap in their knowledge.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | November 29, 2016

Acorn Gert and Brother Bert-GREAT Picture Book for Kids

gertAcorn Gert and Brother Bert
By Elizabeth Duncan Stretar
Illustrated by: Rosemarie Gillen

This is a wonderful picture book for kids about how they can be great, regardless of how small they are in the beginning, by focusing on what is most important and by planting strong inner seeds. Then they can all grow into the person they were meant to be!

This is a book that will take the young reader on a reflective journey on how they can grow to be all that they were meant to be. We all start off small and miniscule in the grand scope of things. And we may all remain that way unless we all put our own marks on the world around us by becoming who we were truly meant to be. What a great message for kids!

We live in a culture when kids are encouraged to feel inadequate from a very early age. Parents, educators, caregivers, and all the positive influencers in our child’s life have a key role in ensuring that our kids are strong and can withstand all the negative societal and cultural pressures that tear our child’s self-esteem down.

Further, inspiring books like this one can also truly help parents to open that discussion with their kids and to keep it going throughout their childhood and into their teen years. By continuing to plant the potential seeds in the heart and minds of parents, we can ensure that our kids will grow up to be all that they were meant to be.

The illustrations in the book are colourful and bring the message of the book home to the young reader very vividly. In addition, at the end of the book, there are a few pages for parents and educators to help them discover their child’s natural inclinations.

I loved the book from beginning to end. I will definitely be talking about the book and sharing it with the people in my church ministry and life.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | November 28, 2016

The Mindfulness of Nature by Dr. Jo-Ann Petrucci Andrews

mindfulness-of-nature-coverThis is a wonderful book that will transport the reader into many different positive sayings and inspirations through images from nature. It is a treasure throve of deep insight and encouragement for readers of all ages.

The book is a unique compilation of alphabetized inspirations on how to be happy and mindful and live the best possible life that we can. We all keep thinking that such a joyous life is reserved for only for a few. But this is not the case. We can each grasp the beauty that is within us and around us by pausing and really mindfully looking around us. Dr. Petrucci Andrews inspires the reader to do that on every page of the book.

A small sampling of the inspirations that are offered in this wonderful book are dream big, you can empower yourself to be wonderful, forgive others to free yourself, be grateful, cultivate inner peace, live with intensity and integrity, love unconditionally, and love yourself.

The inspirations are coupled with wonderful, reflective photos of nature, inviting the reader to reflect deeper on the meaning of the inspirations.

I loved this book from beginning to end. The book helped me feel positive and hopeful. I realized too that hope and happiness is mine if I only stop and be mindful of everything around me.

Thank you for such a wonderful book Dr. Petrucci Andrews!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Older Posts »

Categories