Daniel & Destinee’s Epic Adventures: Trouble at Camillion Creek
By Deborah S. Martin

This is an adventuresome story for kids about the importance of courage and perseverance in solving any problems that we may have.

This story showcases two siblings, Destinee and Daniel. Both of them are off to camp. The story shows how Daniel with ADHD symptoms can learn team work and persistence. He can also learn how to courageously solve any mystery if he tries hard and keeps positive and upbeat.

Daniel and Destinee are at camp. While there, they encounter many different experiences. What child doesn’t enjoy all the fun and adventure that there is at camp. While at camp, Destinee gets to walk a thin line. She is scared. But Destinee conquers her fear and keeps on walking on the thin line because everyone was cheering her on.

This book shows how friends can cheer each other on to be their best. It also shows how Daniel can excel by being in the midst of positive friends who believe in him.

I loved this story! It is beautifully written. The words and sentence fit together with flare and they will definitely excite the young reader to keep reading the book until the end.

The book should be read by all kids who experience fears and a lack of self-confidence. In addition, kids with ADHD symptoms will also find this book very inspiring.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | May 16, 2017

Have you Seen Henry? Book Review

“Have You Seen Henry?” is a delightful picture book for children about the importance of friendship in our daily lives. This charming story takes place within a community of animals, which includes the main characters, Henry and Henrietta Possum. Life is quite predictable and wonderful for the married couple until one day Henry disappears. Henrietta sets out to look for Henry and during the search, many of her friends and neighbors join her in hopes of finding him. They search throughout the neighborhood looking for Henry everywhere. They look for him at the park, the local market, the Root Beer Shop and many other places. Did Henrietta and her neighborhood friends ever find Henry? “Have You Seen Henry?” shows the power of friends and neighbors coming together in a time of need. The story will appeal to children of all ages and is filled with brilliantly, colorful illustrations that bring out the important message of the story. “Have You Seen Henry?” has many educational qualities and should be read by teachers and parents, as well as children.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | April 17, 2017

God’s Eternal Purpose by Clement C. Butler

God’s Eternal Purpose: The Establishment of God’s Kingdom
By Clement C. Butler

Is this life all there is? Or, can we look forward to eternal life?

As human beings, we need to know that we are part of something bigger than ourselves. And we are all always in search of something that is higher and bigger than ourselves so that we could be enlightened.

However, as human beings, many times we misunderstand God’s true purpose for us. We want to be independent beings doing our own things without worrying about anything else. We don’t want others to tell us what to do. This attitude of independence can take us very far from God and his ultimate purpose for us.

God has a cohesive plan for each of us. His purpose has not changed for us. What we have to do is to accept and embrace his purpose in our lives and to live as God wants us to live so that we can get all the gifts that are bestowed to us by God. God is the ultimate orchestrator of our lives.

We must never think that we have no value to God or that we are insignificant. All we have to do is to reflect on the specific details involved in our existence as noted in creation. Man was made to resemble God and was therefore a representative figure to look and function like God on earth.

This book will take the reader on a journey through the Scripture, underscoring the fact that the world of God truly is a marvelous arrangement which carefully outlines and orchestrates His purpose throughout the ages. This book will provide a step-by-step guide of the purpose of God in Scripture for each one of us.

This book will also make the reader ponder about the true meaning of his life in the greater whole and to reflect on how he could really fulfill God’s purpose instead of seeking his own finite purposes—ones that are not pleasing to God.

This is the first volume on God’s Eternal Purpose. This book establishes a foundation regarding the perpetual plan of the Father. I can’t wait to read the second volume in which there will be even more emphasis on the identity of the kingdom, the development of the sons of the kingdom, and the ultimate inheritance of the kingdom.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | January 24, 2017

If Only I Could Ignore You

61p5rxbl-fl1This is a wonderful picture book for kids about how to like themselves and include everyone.

This story opens with a little boy who loves waking up in the morning because his Mom kisses and tickles him. He also loves having breakfast with his dad and brother. But as the average day starts and he has to go to school he becomes unhappy.

He loves school, and he wants to learn. But his efforts are stifled because a kid makes fun of him. If only he could ignore him.

He is not the only target of this bully, other kids are picked on as well.

During recess time the kids who are picked on by the bully, are playing together. They don’t care that their clothes don’t fit right or if someone is chubby or don’t fit into the mold of the bully.

As the kids are laughing and playing with one another they notice the bully sitting alone looking sad, the kids invite him to play with them.

This is a great picture book with a very important message. We are all beautiful, but in our own unique way, and there’s always room for another friend.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | December 17, 2016

The Yoke: By Darrell Dunham Book Review

51bq1x0gk5l-_sx331_bo1204203200_1The Yoke
By Darrell Dunham

This is a wonderful story about the importance of faith, love, forgiveness and redemption. It is a book that is geared for the Christian who feels pulled between the forces of the world and his faith. It will show the reader how to keep believing in a world when unbelief is the norm.

The story is about Barnabas Mitchell. Life was always difficult for him. His father abandoned him when he was young and his mother died when he was very young, turning him into a very vulnerable boy who became quite suspicious of people. But he also had a crisis of faith in those days wondering how God can allow so much to happen to him that was bad.

Barnabas continued onwards, trying to get through life. But he never really dealt with his griefs first-hand. There is nothing worse than having so much bad happen to a boy at such an early age.

Then Bill Cushman entered his life. He was tall, good-looking, athletic and from a very influential family. Bill had a very different upbringing from Barnabas. Bill was accustomed to getting his way in life. He even used people for his own gain. So when Barnabas came along, he was wanted him by his side. Barnabas just couldn’t get Bill out of his life, no matter how hard he tried.

Then he encountered a young woman in law school who he was quite attracted to. Stephanie Schultz was pretty, smart, strong, and a believer! Stephanie admired Barnabas but she wanted him to be more faithful. So, she was determined to help him reignite his faith.

As a lawyer, Barnabas was respected by his peers. He was quite successful and when his biggest case came, one that rivaled Bill Cushman, Barnabas knew he had to find a way of save his clients from Bill’s attempts to steal what was most precious to them. In the process, Barnabas must decide whether or not to reclaim his faith or to go with the flow.

I loved this story from beginning to end. It will show the reader how important it is to follow God’s way, because he will unburden us and make sure that our yoke is easy and our burden light.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful book with a strong message!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | December 13, 2016

Zandi Finds Ubuntu–Book Review

Zandi Finds Ubuntu
By Dr. Tererai Trent and Lori Grainger
Illustrated by: Diane Lucas

This is a wonderful picture book for kids about how to live a life filled with friendship, hard-work, loyalty, trustworthiness and determination. It is what makes the world a better place.

Zandi loves nature. She marvels at the trees and loves to watch life unfolding. She also sees a lot of colourful birds and snakes. She especially loves to sit beneath the baobab tree.

“Zandi also loved the animals that she encountered on her walks home and the sweet scent of the savanna. On one walk, she encountered a herd of stripped zebras grazing together with the wildebeest. They all seemed peaceful and got along with each other. They also protected each other. The friendship they shared reminded her of her own village.”

As she walked further towards her home, she encountered four pairs of monkey eyes looking at her from a mukute tree. The monkeys all seemed to get along too and they were a loving family. Zandi encountered a few other animals along the way home and they always seemed to get along together and were peaceful.

As she approached home, Tiger, her dog woofed at her. He missed her. Tiger was a loyal and trustworthy friend. When she came home, Grandma Gogo was calling for her. She was late and the cattle had to be herded back to the kraal.

Finally at the end of the day, under the bright moon, the whole family sat around an open fire and listened as Zandi shared her exciting day on the savanna. When she had finished telling the family everything that she saw, Grandma Gogo was so excited because Zandi discovered the true meaning of Ubuntu. To achieve Ubuntu you must be a friend to all, protect each other, and care for everyone you meet. That is where true happiness lies.

What a wonderful picture book for kids about an important message. It is a theme that is much needed today in our world where happiness is sought in all the wrong places.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | December 13, 2016

Money Doesn’t Grow on Trees by Tony Bland–Book Review

cover-for-blandMoney Doesn’t Grow on Trees
By Tony Bland
Illustrated by Chad Thompson

This is a great picture book for kids about the world of business. It is a story about family involvement and the impact that words have on a child’s mind.

This book is about a curious little boy who overhears a conversation between his mom and his older sister. Mom told his sister that money doesn’t grow on trees. This intrigued the little boy and made him wonder about what that meant.

So, he decided to ask his favorite teacher, Ms. Wilson at school. When the opportunity came in class, the boy put up his hand and asked “Can you help me list all the ways that money can grow?”

Ms. Wilson was intrigued by the question. After class, she asked the boy: “Where have you seen money?” The boy pondered for a while and came up with his very own list of where he has seen his parents give money.

I loved this book and will be recommending it to my friends. What a valuable book for kids!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | December 2, 2016

About Brit Jones’ Hobbies

9781612444765Hi again Brit Jones!  What an honour to have you here on my blog!

Please tell us about your hobbies.

When I am not writing, I enjoy hiking, live music, and working out. I also spend as much time as I can with my son.  I never envisioned myself as a writer until I recognized a need to become one.  I see now that my extended stay in the restaurant business was necessary in order to realize this book.  I hope that others will see the value in it.

“If you love life, then don’t waste time because time is what life is made of.” –Bruce Lee

It would be a privilege to have coffee with Bruce Lee. I respect his discipline along with his wisdom.

I see myself as a sensitive and caring person. I am pushed forward by a constant internal question of, “how can this be better?” I strive for constant improvement in all my dealings with those I care for and myself.

Thank you Brit Jones for being here on my blog this week!  It was a lot of fun getting to know you and your writing.

I look forward to keeping in touch with you in future, and I certainly look forward to reading your next book!

All the best of luck in your writing career and as a professional waiter!

 

Posted by: irenesroth | December 1, 2016

Crossing the Waters: Review for Tyndale Book Publishers

514brbz7el1Crossing the Waters
By Leslie Leyland Fields

This book is a very interesting read! It is a book that will capture the reader’s attention from the beginning to the end.

Many of us have a difficult time to follow Jesus through all the storms of our lives. Through the stories contained in this book, the author shows us how to do that, one story at a time.

Leslie Leyland Fields is a fisherwoman in real life. So, she knows so much about the waters, especially around Alaska. It would be a cold place to fish, but very picturesque, I bet!

The gospels are quite dramatic, wild and wet. They are set in a rich maritime culture on the shores of the Sea of Galilee.

We must remember that Jesus’ first disciples were fishermen. I had no idea that this may be the reason why there are so many references to fishermen in the gospels.

Many of Jesus’ miracles and messages focus around water, fish, fishermen, net-breaking catches, sea crossings, boat-sinking storms, and even a walk on the water.

This world seems so foreign to us, even true Christians and Catholics. We have therefore missed much about the disciples’ experiences and about following Jesus. There was a huge gap there and now they are filled in with this wonderful book!

Leslie Leyland Fields crosses a lot of historic time and history to take us out on the Sea of Galilee and through a rugged season of fishing with her family in Alaska and also through the waters of the New Testament!

I loved this book from beginning to end!

I received this book compliments of Tyndale Publishers Ltd.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | December 1, 2016

About Brit Jones’ A Waiter’s Companion

9781612444765Hi Brit Jones!  Welcome back to my blog!

Can you tell us a bit about your book?

A Waiter’s Companion is a book designed to fill the niche between what a restaurant employer’s desire in a server and the difficult task of gaining useful experience as a server new to the business. There are numerous suggestions and guiding principles designed to elevate a new server’s hospitality mentality.

Although this book’s audience is young people new to the restaurant business, it is my hope that restaurant owners and managers will discover the value of making this book required reading for all of their servers. Their benefit will become evident in the increase their bottom line as they give their staff the necessary information to create more positive dining experiences in their restaurants.

Publisher: Halo Publishing International

Email:wcbrit461@gmail.com

Website address: www.awaiterscompanion.com

This book is available for purchase on Amazon, Barnes and Noble.com, and on Kindle.

A Waiter’s Companion makes a great gift for anyone you may know who is waiting tables. Whether a son, daughter, or grandchild, this book will undoubtedly contribute to their success and confidence.

Thank you so much for inspiring my readers with your wisdom! 

Readers please be sure to visit again for one more day about Brit Jones tomorrow!

 

Older Posts »

Categories