Posted by: irenesroth | October 21, 2016

Day 3: A. Law Shettleworth’s Writing Life

self-portraitHi Antonette Law Shettleworth! 

Please share your writing life with my readers today.

The beginning sentence is always the hardest, and it overwhelming to gather my thoughts together.  Who am I writing to?  What am I going to write?  Self-doubt gets in the way and procrastination comes second, and I found especially after I became a mother is very challenging to find the time to sit down and write.  On a light note, writing is addictive.  Once I put all self-doubt aside and my pen start flowing on a piece of paper, and the final piece of a thousand words just took my breath away.  Wow, I wrote a story, and it felt great.

I personally don’t write every day, but when ideas strikes I write it down.  I always have a small note pad in my purse, and I take creative orders.  I take out my pen and write down what comes to mind, it’s either something I see, hear or a pop of an idea.  I love writing it down on a napkin, I love how the ink smears over and every cursive word bleeds into each other creates art.  I draw triangles, squares or clouds to enhance my ideas, when it is fun to look at it keeps my writing flowing.

I love penmanship, I love to write on a piece of paper.  I am a very tangible person, so when I get into a writer’s block I just pick a word and write it down.  I like to write on all sorts of textures, and use different color pens encourage my writing.  One word becomes a sentence, a sentence becomes a paragraph.

Yes, guilty as charged. I used a piece of recycle paper, and 2 squares of napkin filled with numbers, clouds, quotation marks and blue ink to write my writing life.  To me it’s perfect and I like it that way ha ha.

Thank you so much for being on my blog this week Antonette!  You are such an inspiring writer.

I too love penmanship!  I also love writing on different kinds of paper and with different kinds of pens. For me, that is what makes me feel free and centered.

I wish you every success in your writing career!  And I can’t wait to read your next book!

Readers if you would like to contact the author, please do so through her contact information that was shared on Day 2 of her tour right her on my blog.



Posted by: irenesroth | October 19, 2016

Day 2: VBT Tour for A. Law Shettleworth

51nvkpireyl-_sy498_bo1204203200_1Hi there!  It is GREAT to have you here for Day 2 of your VBT tour.

Today, we will give you, the reader, a lot of information about the book.

1. What is the theme of your book or description?

It is helping siblings learn to appreciate one another.

2. Who is the audience?

The audience is young children from age 4-8, unisex, sibling relationship, and family.

3. Who is your publisher Information

Lisa Umina – Halo Publishing
Tel: 877-705-9647
Mex: 55-5250-8519

4. What is your Email?

It is

5. What is your contact information?

People can contact me several ways:

By email at:
Through Facebook at:
Through Twitter at:

6. Where is it available for purchase? Amazon? Barnes and Noble?
It is available online:


Barnes & Noble:

Halo publishing:

Indie’s bookstores:

1378 Lincoln Ave.
San Jose, CA 95125
Phone: (408) 292-8880
FAX: (408) 292-6233

Linden Tree Books
265 State Street
Los Altos, CA 94022
Phone: 650.949.3390
To place an order, please call us.

Christopher’s Books
1400 18th Street (at Missouri)
San Francisco, CA 94107
415 255-8802
Email us:

7. Do you have anything else to tell your reader?

I received a 5 stars review from Reader’s Favorite.

Thank you so much for being here on my blog today!

Readers stay tuned for Day 3 on Friday!

Posted by: irenesroth | October 17, 2016

Day 1: Virtual Book Tour for A. Law Shettleworth

self-portraitHi there!  It is great to have you here on my blog this week!  I know that my readers will be inspired by your work and by you as a writer!

1. Tell us a few things about yourself.

Hello there, well I’m a mother of 2 young children. I’m originally from Washington, DC, but I went to Hong Kong when I was 7 years old. I lived in Hong Kong for almost the rest of my childhood and early adult life. I speak fluent Cantonese and conversational Mandarin.

2. What’s your favorite book?

I will go with what first came to mind – It’s CLICK, CLACK, MOO Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin. This author is simply brilliant! Her story is so funny and the whole story came to live.

3. Who is your favorite author?

My favorite author is J.K. Rowling.

4. What inspired you to want to write your book?

Negative criticisms about my writing, and a dream that I had since I was little girl that one day I would love to become a magazine publisher. Yup, I always dreamt about what article, artwork, or even what the cover would look like of my imaginary magazine/book. That image or idea stuck with me for a very long time. As for the criticisms part of things also stuck with me for a very long time. I grew up in a country where the Chinese and English language collides, and it’s not the easiest thing to do to actually pen down something.

I remembered I dread composition classes (Chinese and English) in school, and I don’t like writing at all. I felt that I’m really bad at this, and it’s quite hard for me when my brain function in both languages. One time my journalism instructor in college came to me with my project in hand and told me “Antonette, this is really bad, look at all the grammar, this is really bad work you need to take a grammar class”.

My heart was pounding filled with embarrassment, that comment was never forgotten. To be honest, it hurt my feelings it really did, and that D graded project I wrote for my journalism class was a sight of sore eyes; but it pushed me to a different level. I kept writing and kept getting criticisms and I kept it moving. Don’t get me wrong there’s good and bad criticisms, and I was praised plenty about my creative ideas and attitude towards my writing. Eventually, I decided to take a class to improve my writing. It was a choice between Children stories or Business writing. It was an easy choice, it was a Nope! To boring business writing, and Yippie Yes!! To fun Children stories.

5. Why do you like writing children’s stories?

Because it’s fun and takes me back to the past when I was a little girl. I can use my creative ideas in writing, and it truly makes me happy.

6. Tell us a bit about your current writing projects.

Well, there’s no secret I still write and scribble here and there, but it will be a surprise. Stay tuned

7. Do you have more books in the works? Tell us a bit about them.

I do have another story that I am still working on, and trying to map the bits and pieces together, and a little more research. (I am sure having a writer’s block moment) This time I would like to add a little friendly creature into it, because being a mother I learned a lot more from my children and their friends – they are truly teachers to children writers.

8. What can readers expect to get from this book?

My goal is for parents to feel they can enjoy and relate to it, so it will not only be suitable for children but also any ages.

9. Any tips for aspiring writers?

I am an aspiring writer myself, but this was once said to me
from a friend of a friend as an encouragement, she wrote,

“Ignore all the naysayers. Lots of things are better said
than done. You do what makes you happy. If it
doesn’t work out in the end, at least you’ll know you

It was that one tip and support that I needed. I forever
thank her for this comment.

10. Any last words?
It’s all about practice – “Go for it!”

Posted by: irenesroth | October 14, 2016

An endearing story about sibling love and acceptance

51nvkpireyl-_sy498_bo1204203200_1Oh Brother! Why is He My Brother?
By A. Law Shettleworth
Illustrated by Chad Thompson

Headline: An endearing story about sibling love and acceptance

This is a very endearing story about a relationship between a brother and sister. It is a story that will help siblings get along more and it will show them how to show unconditional love.

The story is about Katie who really cannot understand her brother, Richard. He seems to have different mannerisms than she does. But Richard always helps her out, regardless of how negative and critical she is of him. Richard never seems to be too put off by her remarks.

But what is more, Richard is always there to help her. He helps her find her bracelet when she loses it, he helps her pick up the blueberries that fall on the floor, and he helps her find the missing letter from her bracelet.

By showing this kind of unconditional love towards Katie, Richard shows how important it is to love your sibling, regardless of how different they seem.

This is a story about trust, unconditional love, and family. It is a wholesome story that may encourage families to make pancakes and enjoy them as a family, without bickering and complaining too much.

In the end, Katie discovers that despite their differences, she truly loves Richard and she accepts him and loves him just as he is.

I loved this story and I will be passing it along to the children in my midst.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | October 13, 2016

An Inspirational Picture Book for Kids about Death

Ryan’s New Beginnings
By Dr. Jo-Ann Petrucci Andrews
Illustrated by Joseph R. Petrucci

This is a wonderful picture book for kids about death and how they can deal with it as best as possible.

Ryan lives on a farm in the country. When he moved from the big city to the country, he struggled because he had to leave everything that was familiar to him. He didn’t think that he could cope. But Ryan’s grandpa who he spent a lot of time with him said that the country was a place where he can be close to God. So, after a while, Ryan began to like living in the country.

He got to know a lot of animals and became especially close to a rooster named Frank. However, one afternoon Frank lost his life trying to protect his beloved Catherine. Before they buried Frank, Ryan was so upset. He cried and his sister and Grandpa tried to comfort him.  They told Ryan that this was the natural order of life. Ultimately, Ryan started dealing with the loss by believing that Frank was now in a better place: he was in heaven.

Most kids have a difficult time to deal with death in healthy ways. This inspirational book will help kids to see that mourning after the death of a beloved person or animal is normal.

This is a great book and I will definitely be recommending it to kids of all ages that are dealing with death in some way.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | October 13, 2016

A wonderful book about the value of Christian marriage

Marriage Primer for Christians
By John S. Heidebrecht

This is a wonderful book about the value of marriage and how we can take steps to save marriages in order to reverse the trend towards divorce that currently plagues our cultural times.

It is difficult not to be alarmed by the fact that half of all marriages end in divorce. It seems like an egotistical time that is defined strictly by the needs and wants of one individual. However, a marriage is a holy union between two individuals. It is meant to be an institution where God brings two people together so that they can thrive and live a Godly life.

So, what has happened to this notion of Christian marriage? Heidebrecht believes that we have made marriage about ME as opposed to two people. When a marriage is at a crisis point our favorite excuse for dissolving marriage is incompatibility.

When we start believing that marriage is a hopeless institution, we can begin by calling on the one who created marriage and is the author of love: God. There are many reasons why people get disillusioned in their marriage. One of the biggest problems is that of trying to change our partner. Only God can change our partner not us. The only thing we can do is to change ourselves and to be the best spouse that we can be. If we do that one thing, we will have the chance of saving ourselves a lot of hardship in our marriage.

We all love to hear stories about long-lasting marriages where two people are devoted to each other. We all think that these people must be the lucky ones to live in long and happy marriages. What we all tend to forget is that every marriage takes work, and every healthy marriage requires that we do more than think about ourselves. When we give our lives to Christ, His Holy Spirit comes to live within us. When we seek the Kingdom of God, He gives us all we need.

I loved this book from beginning to end. It is a primer for all Christians on marriage. I will definitely take a copy of the book into my parish and have it available for couples whose marriage is in crisis.

Rating: 5 Stars

Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | October 11, 2016

An Insightful and Important Book to Create a Positive Marriage

The Road Less Traveled: A Guide to a Positive Marriage
Lisa Cassman

This is an insightful book about how to create a positive marriage. Since half of all marriages end in divorce, this book is also a very important for our culture and our times.

One of the most important insights that I learned in this book is that before we get married, we should get to know ourselves. Lisa Cassman has a series of questions that we should each ask ourselves, such as whether we are happy individuals and what we really need in a marriage. We also have to ascertain how we can be at our best and whether our future partner will encourage us. Many couples are unhappy because their partners are negative all the time and they have very different personalities.

Throughout the book, the reader will find many helpful tips to enhance their marriage and make it the best that it can be. For instance, we should love and respect our partners, complement one another, go on dates, and much more. This is a way to create a marriage that is not only fitting for both individuals but loving and compassionate. It is only in this way that we could grow together and become the best that it could be.

This book is also for couples who may be struggling in their marriage. The tips outlined in this book, when applied to one’s marriage, will help to make the marriage stronger and happier. There is always hope if we are willing to work hard together to make our marriage better and stronger.

Most people struggle in their marriages in some way. Some couples may have even gotten despairing because they don’t think anything much can change in their marriage. But after Lisa Cassman’s book, I can now see that even the most despairing problems in a couple’s life can be changed for the better by taking a few steps every day in the right direction.

Thank you Lisa Cassman for such a wonderful book and message! I love hopeful and encouraging books like this. We all need to hear positive messages in today’s negative world. I can’t wait to read your next book!

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

The Horse Who Loves Hats
Nancy Lind Corradini
Illustrated by Michael Cook

This is a wonderful picture book with an important message of inclusion for kids.

When Stardust was born, her mom truly loved her. At night, she would cuddle with her so close that they breathed nose-to-nose. This is when Stardust felt the most confident and mostly loved by her mom.

Because of this feeling of confidence and comfort when her mom was close to her head, she started loving to wear hats because they resembled the feeling that her mom’s cuddling had way back when she was a baby. And over the years, she wore a lot of beautiful hats, each of which comforted her tremendously.

When Stardust grew older, she became a racehorse. She was different from the other racehorses in that she never won a race. Having determined that she wasn’t a good racehorse, her new owners helped her find something else that she could do. In the process, Stardust stumbled upon a second chance at something that she absolutely was excellent at: loving and being compassionate towards kids.

As Stardust embarked on her new venture, she discovered that she became especially compassionate with kids who were different. Stardust was so gentle with the children on the ranch and she liked nuzzling with them. She used her head to cuddle, just as her mom had done with her many years before. Autistic kids especially loved Stardust and were especially drawn to her.

This book also has a section at the end on what autism is so that parents can describe the condition to their kids and a glossary of key terms as well as how the reader can get more information about autism. The whimsical illustrations show the message clearly to the reader!

This is an important book for all parents and kids. It is a book that will show kids how to include everyone and to love unconditionally. It is an empowering book that will keep kids and parents coming back and reading the book over and over again.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | October 10, 2016

Meet Mark Spencer

spencer_cover_3dTell us a few things about yourself.

Not much to say I’m a pretty average guy. Always loved reading and perhaps got that from my dad who read more books than most libraries hold. I’ve always been drawn to stories of adventure on other worlds or in other times because I’ve never felt like I truly fit in this world or at this time. I actually have been writing fiction books for years, have yet to finish one, and the funny thing is that the first story I completed turned out to be nothing like anything else I was working on.

What’s your favorite book?

The Hobbit + Lord of the Rings Trilogy

Who is your favorite author?

I have several – God, CS Lewis and Stephen King

What inspired you to want to write your book?

For me it was God, but it came in a way that was not anything I ever expected. It was on a random trip to a home where a small dollhouse size door was along the baseboard at the bottom of the stairs.

Tell us a bit about your current writing projects.

About two weeks ago the concept came to me for a sequel to The Christmas Mouse, which again was out of the blue as I never imagined the possibility of a sequel to be honest, so I will hopefully be working on that as soon as I’m supposed to, and I already have a few verses on the chalkboard in my head. Other than that I have several fiction novels in the works, the first of which I hope to finish next year. It’s about my dad who passed almost two years ago, but we’ll see, it seems God might have different plans for what I might write.

Do you have more books in the works? Tell us a bit about them.

I do. Seventeen at the moment. I hope I get enough time to finish some of them.

What can readers expect to get from this book?

I’m hoping they get a touch of that magical feeling that Christmas seems to bring and that through all the insanity of the commercial side of the holiday, that it helps them remember what Christmas truly is.

Any tips for aspiring writers?

Lol I still think of myself as one. This is my first published book and not at all what I thought my first book would be, so if I had to offer anything I have learned to date, it’s that you need to follow what most people would call your instincts and never give up on what you feel led to write, even it takes many years to get it to print.

Any last words?

Just that I hope people really enjoy this one little story in the sea of thousands of new books, and that it adds to their Christmas joy and traditions. Oh and I’d love to hear from readers how they make Mouse a part of their Christmas.

I love you three Dots
Written by Mona Haynes
Illustrated by Maryann Held

This is an endearing story about what true love between a mother and son really means. It is a message that kids need to hear over and over again.

The story is about a boy who is trying to learn how to count in his room one early afternoon. He had a favorite book that Mom used all the time—a book that the little boy really loved.

Then one day the boy noticed that there were three dots on each page. He had no idea what that meant and why there were there.

So, he asked his mom. His mom tried to explain why, but she had to explain it in a way that he would understand. His mom said that the three dots meant going on forever. Then she realized that even that definition was a bit hard for a child to gasp.

But the child did understand and he even used it to tell his mom how much he loved her at bedtime.

What a wonderful book about love with a special message for kids: a mom’s love goes on forever.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Older Posts »