Posted by: irenesroth | September 26, 2016

A Wonderful Picture Book About the True Meaning of Christmas

Tspencer_cover_3dhe Christmas Mouse
By Mark Spencer
Illustrated by: Polona Lovsin

This is a wonderful picture book for kids about the true meaning of Christmas. It is a message that will invite children to rethink what is truly important and what Christmas really signifies.

This adorable story is about a little mouse’s first Christmas. Naturally, the little mouse is filled with hope and happiness and wants to share the good news with the stable animals. But they are filled with fear and apprehension.

Then along came an angel, and nothing was ever the same again. There appeared a brilliant light that shone brightly, illuminating all the animals and the stable.

However, even the angel with brilliant luminosity and the good news that this night they were going to witness one of the greatest births of all was it possible to convince the animals in the stable to help out in any way.

However, when the angel turned to the little mouse and asked for help. The angel gave her whole stable to make this birth the best it could be. In fact, the angel gave everything.

What a great message of giving and generosity. It is a message that will teach kids a lot of important lessons. Most of all, it will teach kids the true meaning of Christmas so that they could get ready not by expecting gifts but by sharing as much as they can with others, especially those who are less fortunate.

This illustrator also did a splendid job bringing the message of the book to children’s eyes. The colours of the illustrations are bold and colourful. They are luminous and hopeful just as the message portrayed in the book.

I loved the book and will recommend it to all the kids in the youth choir during rehearsals leading up to Christmas.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | September 9, 2016

A picture book about acceptance and growth

The Biggest Little Brother
Written by Aminata Jalloh
Illustrated by Kim Sponaugle

The Biggest Little Brother is a beautiful picture book written for children. While the themes of the story focus around sibling relationships and change, it also is about acceptance, growth and diversity. It is not often that you see dynamics of split families in children’s literature and this book does an excellent job in introducing this family dynamic in a way that is not heavy on the reader.

The story focuses around the main character, Sowa, who is used to his role as a big brother with his family. However, when his older brother joins the rest of the family in America, everything that Sowa used to take pride in leading at home has to be shared with his new big brother. As the story progresses, the reader wonders if Sowa can accept his new and evolving role in the family? Can Sowa be accepting of his new big brother?

This is a story that kids of all ages will love and a story that is very fitting for our time.

I truly loved the book from start to finish and will be passing it along.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | September 9, 2016

About LR Gray’s Writing Space

Dizella jpegI am so excited to have LR Gray on my blog today to talk about her work space. All writers are fascinated by another writer’s writing space.

So, sit back and enjoy getting to know LR Gray better.

Describe my work space to the readers

As a mother, grandma and commercial driver my work space for the most part is where ever I can find a quiet spot. On most occasions when they were sleep or gone I would get to the kitchen table, my favor chair in the living room and even sometimes my bedroom and just clear my mind of everything except the story I am focused on.

What is your typical writing day like?

Since I have started driving OTR again, my typical writing days are short and usually during my 12hr down time before sleeping for 8hrs. These times could be in the middle of the day, early morning, late evening and sometimes right before midnight.

Where do you receive inspiration from?

For me, anything can inspire me to write. One of my favorite inspiring moments was a few years back. My sons, “Andrew and James” and I had just moved into our first San Antonio apartment. The apartment was still bare and unfurnished.

So we were spending a lot of time eating in front of the living room fireplace, sitting on tossed pillows or out on the balcony overlooking a creek running through the back yard. But this particular night out of the calm clear blue sky a big bad thunderstorm had crept up on us, knocking out all the power on our street, forcing us to eat in the absolute pitch dark and unwanted serious lightning flashing. We managed somehow to get through dinner. But the boys were afraid to go to their bedroom to sleep. So we decided to sleep right where we were in the living room with the tossed pillows and blankets.

The thunderstorm was getting closer and closer so the lightning flashed more and more as well as brighter, bigger and longer. So I slightly closed the vertical blinds as we laid there still unable to sleep. Seeing just how afraid they were, I told the boys to make up a story.

At first they were still afraid, then after a while they began to look around the room at the shadows of rain, the trees and the vertical blinds on the wall casted by the lightning flashing. From that moment they imagined themselves living in a rainforest in a tree house.

Where a sloth hung outside the bedroom window and birds were flying in the distance. I told them they had to come up with a name for themselves. They said they only saw one child but could not figure out what to call the child. So after looking around the empty room again there was nothing but pillows. So from the pillows the child’s name was born. His name would be Pillar.

What’s the most important writing advice you ever received?

I once read never write your book one day and submit it the next. Instead write a bit each day as you are inspired. When you have finished put it away and come back to it a week or two later.

Who inspires you as a writer?

If I had to give credit to someone it would not be a writer but an artist: William Thomas Kinkade III. No particular writer inspires me as much as mothers and grandmothers who are full-time writing about life. But Thomas Kinkade works of art speak so much to me.

How do you get ideas for your books?

Looking at life and its many concerns from the eyes of a child fills us all with many questions.

Are you predominantly a children’s book writer?

No.

Will you ever branch out into other kinds of writing?

Yes

Thank you so much for sharing your inspirations for all of us writers!  You are a truly amazing person!

It is GREAT to have you here on my blog LR Gray. 

Readers, stay tuned to my post on Wednesday when LR Gray talks about her hobbies and pastimes.

Posted by: irenesroth | September 7, 2016

About LR Gray’s Hobbies and Pastimes

Dizella jpeg1. What are your hobbies?

Cooking with my family, especially my daughters.

2. What do you do when you are not writing?

I drive an 18 wheeler tractor coast-to-coast.

3. Are you a full-time writer?

No. I hope to be, one day.

4. Do you have a favorite quote?

I can do all things through Christ which strengthen me.
Philippians 4:13 King James Version

5. Which organizations do you belong to?

None at this time.

6. If you were to do one thing differently in your life, what would it be?

I would have finished school and published my books sooner.

7. Who would you like to have coffee with if you got a chance?

William Thomas Kinkade III.

8. Why?

I always wanted to know what inspired him from that first stroke of paint.

9. How would you describe yourself?

Simple “A Believer.”

Thank you LR Gray for spending time with me here on my blog. You are a true inspiration to all writers!

Readers, stay tuned to my blog post on Friday when we will find out even more about LR Gray!

Posted by: irenesroth | September 6, 2016

A wonderful, super-cute picture book, just in time for Christmas

615zyixolgl-_ss300_1Santa’s Secret Wish
By “K” Stone
Illustrated by Mary Lee Dunn

This is a wonderful picture book for kids of all ages just in time for Christmas. In this super-cute book Santa has a secret wish, and he is sad when his wish doesn’t come true after Christmas.

What child doesn’t appreciate Santa’s gifts? But few kids realize that Santa would also like to receive letters after Christmas letting him know if he made them happy.

This story is also about upholding traditions. Many of us have Christmas traditions that we practice every year. And any child would beam at receiving a letter of their own from Santa.

We all need to feel appreciated and Santa is no different! This picture book ends with an encouragement that we too send a note to Santa. Then maybe his wish will come true: he will indeed get a pile of nice letters after Christmas just as high as those he gets before Christmas.

I loved this book from beginning to end. I love children’s Christmas books. And this one is at the top of my list. I will be sharing it with the children in my community.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | September 6, 2016

LR Gray’s Inspirations

Dizella jpegI find many things in life to be inspiring. Something as small as a feather gliding right before your eyes. Especially on a day when everything that can and does go wrong happens. Then God sends that one gliding feather to say, “It’s okay” and in that moment life is well. Even when it physically has not changed. Somehow you know it is going to be alright.

One event such as that can inspire me to write about love, life, hardship and blessings.  God is my true foundation for my writing. He has always been there to help me turn my life challenges into life victories. For some people they say God changed everything around for them. I don’t disagree, but I see how he gives me the strength to turn those things around for myself. He always send a ram in the bush as he did for Abraham. Giving me a chance to see the good and how His plan is working for me. I just have to let him lead me, instruct me, and take president in my all.

Being on the road everyday of your life can be difficult sometimes. Waking up in one place and before you can close your eyes again you are somewhere else. Not really enjoying all that you have seen. Not even experiencing the moments that you have just witnessed.  Just making sure the load gets there on time and safe. This way of looking at life is from a business perspective. But with God I can recall those things I’ve seen and relive those moments of wow, when I shut down for my 10 to 12hr rest. He brings all things back to my memory just so I can write it in a book.

Posted by: irenesroth | September 3, 2016

Chase Away Cancer-Book Review

This is a very inspiring book about living each day to the fullest.  Very few of us do that. We take life for granted almost completely–until we are struck with a health crisis or tragedy that will shake us out of our comfort levels.

This is a story about cancer survival. However, in the midst of the diagnosis and suffering, the family gets closer and grows stronger, and the young boy in this story especially grows up to be strong and resilient.

The characters in this story are about a little boy, a loving family and a team of dedicated and compassionate doctors. The diagnosis for the little boy was that his cancer was terminal. However, as the family is plunged into absolute sorrow and they don’t seem to know what they did to deserve this, there is also a lot of joy along the way.

For a long time, there was no rest from the reality of cancer from Chase. But in the midst of all of this stress and turmoil there was a peace that came from trusting that God knew things we didn’t about Chase’s life and made promises that He would faithfully keep, even though the keeping of them looking nothing like what we had imagined. This was the only way that the family could carry on, and carry on they did resolutely and in fate.

Chase did receive his miraculous healing from God, and the family did continue onwards but very different ideals and purpose. Their whole meaning of life changed and it became very much more rewarding and resilient than it was before. Never again did any of them take anything for granted and they enjoyed every moment.

I loved the book from beginning to end!

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | September 2, 2016

A Peek at LR Gray’s Writing Life

Dizella jpegWe are all different, and how we create is very different as well. I love to learn and share about the writer’s journey.

Here is a rare glimpse into LR Gray’s writing life.

Thank you for sharing this with all of us!

Late one afternoon sitting inside my two bedroom trailer home. Watching from my living room window outside at my children playing in the yard. I saw my son Andrew and daughter Shantinnia. As to what they were playing I could not say only except Shan was correcting Andrew and the look on his face took me to a very sad little boy who wished he was the oldest. His look said everything. He wanted to be in charge and set the dos and don’t s. After a while I saw them go their separate ways as if they had decided it was best. Shan was not aware of this decision, but Andrew had made it for them. He had removed himself from near her to my mothers front porch trees. After several minutes of not hearing Andrew not respond back to Ms Shan. She finally looked up to see there was no Andrew to obey her every word. Then looking across the 1 acres land her eyes rested on him sitting under grandma’s porch tree. He had found a way to have fun without her. He had fell a sleep with a puppy in one hand and his thumb in his mouth.

Sorry I can not tell you how this story ends. You just have to wait to see in The Gastronomical Effect by L R Gray.

Posted by: irenesroth | August 30, 2016

About “Who Goes There?”

41FeMmqXefL._SS300_[1]1. Theme of your book or description

Who Goes There is a story where fear, imagination and a good name comes together all in a very stressful night. We know fear is something that can get to the best of us as well as our imagination. And in this story a good name brings favor for a very good man who needed a little help. This book is also about family love. Which Granny Gray explains in her memories of her childhood. Sometimes love comes with unthinkable home remedies, like cow manure tea, spider webs and soot, catnip tea and a spat of chewed tobacco.

2. Who is the audience for your book?

Anyone and Everyone.

3. Can you provide us with you publisher information?

The publisher is Halo Publishing.

Dizella jpeg4. What is your Email:

My email address is wordofaction@gmail.com

5. What contact information do you want the reader to have about you?

My Phone number is: 210-980-7675

6. Where is it available for purchase?

My book is available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble. It is also available everywhere books are sold.

7. Please include anything else that a potential buyer of your book may need.

This book is safe for our little ears to hear and little eyes to read.

Posted by: irenesroth | August 26, 2016

Meet LR Gray

Dizella jpegMeet LR Gray

1. Tell us a few things about yourself

Well I am a mother of 8 and grandmother 21. I always wanted a big family. Maybe it was due to me coming from a large family, a family of 4 by my mother. She is one of 25. So family is very important for us. Holidays, birthdays, weddings, family reunion and even funerals are looked upon as opportunities to get together.

2. What’s your favorite book?

Great Expectations, The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew.

3. Who is your favorite author?

Charles Dickens

41FeMmqXefL._SS300_[1]4. What inspired you to want to write your book?

When I look around and see how much of my generation are doing things unthinkable. Then the next generations are following suit. You have to ask yourself. What has gone wrong? Then I realized how blessed I was as a child to have had this network of family structure in my life.

I did not have an easy life. My mother raised me and my other three siblings by herself but not alone. There was her parents, brothers, sisters, good neighbors, church and Jesus our foundation. This structure was lacking for many of my peers and even more so in this present generation.

Where we see the mentality of having a baby is a decision based on flipping a coin, he’s so cute. He will make a cute baby for me and maybe even have a reality show. I would like to do my part of bringing back family values by first injecting self-awareness, self-value, self-worth, self-standards and goals, then self-achievements.

I hope to inspire these treasures through books, imagination, and arts and gifts. See I too have made many mistakes along my journey and even now. But the way I look at it is: Each one of us are responsible for what we can do and don’t do. I might not be able to do what others can, but what I can I should. We All Can Do Our Part.

5. Tell us a bit about your current writing projects.

Pillar and His Discoveries In The Rainforest is a story for adventurous and exploring minds. It’s full of dangers and mystery for a little 7 year old who just can’t be without his best friend. Not thinking about the what-if’s only focused on saving his friend, a 30 year old sloth.

6. Tell us a bit about your writing projects.

There is the Granny Gray series which goes on and on. I don’t know if she will ever end. For there is always a lesson to learn and teach. Then there are the L R Gray stories which are for the much more mature group. There are still lessons to learn but from a much more serious view.

Like for instance The Purple Tu-lips is about bullying, The Hike is about a faith that is stronger than life itself, Conspiracy Town is about what it says, So They Think They Got Us is about a government system lead by the dark society. Then there is my story: From The Mind of Damage Goods. This is basically my beginnings.

7. What can readers expect to get from this book?

There is much to get from each of these books for every stage in life.

8. Any tips for aspiring writers?

You have to be true to your most deepest self (your soul) and never let anyone talk you down. Your voice count.

9. Any last words? Or add your contact information.

A mind is a terrible thing to waste, but your soul is an even bigger loss.

Greatness is in all of us. Make it for the good of everyone.

My contact information is: wordofaction@gmail.comor nvention09@yahoo.com

God Bless

Older Posts »

Categories