Posted by: irenesroth | August 26, 2016

Meet LR Gray

Dizella jpegMeet LR Gray

1. Tell us a few things about yourself

Well I am a mother of 8 and grandmother 21. I always wanted a big family. Maybe it was due to me coming from a large family, a family of 4 by my mother. She is one of 25. So family is very important for us. Holidays, birthdays, weddings, family reunion and even funerals are looked upon as opportunities to get together.

2. What’s your favorite book?

Great Expectations, The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew.

3. Who is your favorite author?

Charles Dickens

41FeMmqXefL._SS300_[1]4. What inspired you to want to write your book?

When I look around and see how much of my generation are doing things unthinkable. Then the next generations are following suit. You have to ask yourself. What has gone wrong? Then I realized how blessed I was as a child to have had this network of family structure in my life.

I did not have an easy life. My mother raised me and my other three siblings by herself but not alone. There was her parents, brothers, sisters, good neighbors, church and Jesus our foundation. This structure was lacking for many of my peers and even more so in this present generation.

Where we see the mentality of having a baby is a decision based on flipping a coin, he’s so cute. He will make a cute baby for me and maybe even have a reality show. I would like to do my part of bringing back family values by first injecting self-awareness, self-value, self-worth, self-standards and goals, then self-achievements.

I hope to inspire these treasures through books, imagination, and arts and gifts. See I too have made many mistakes along my journey and even now. But the way I look at it is: Each one of us are responsible for what we can do and don’t do. I might not be able to do what others can, but what I can I should. We All Can Do Our Part.

5. Tell us a bit about your current writing projects.

Pillar and His Discoveries In The Rainforest is a story for adventurous and exploring minds. It’s full of dangers and mystery for a little 7 year old who just can’t be without his best friend. Not thinking about the what-if’s only focused on saving his friend, a 30 year old sloth.

6. Tell us a bit about your writing projects.

There is the Granny Gray series which goes on and on. I don’t know if she will ever end. For there is always a lesson to learn and teach. Then there are the L R Gray stories which are for the much more mature group. There are still lessons to learn but from a much more serious view.

Like for instance The Purple Tu-lips is about bullying, The Hike is about a faith that is stronger than life itself, Conspiracy Town is about what it says, So They Think They Got Us is about a government system lead by the dark society. Then there is my story: From The Mind of Damage Goods. This is basically my beginnings.

7. What can readers expect to get from this book?

There is much to get from each of these books for every stage in life.

8. Any tips for aspiring writers?

You have to be true to your most deepest self (your soul) and never let anyone talk you down. Your voice count.

9. Any last words? Or add your contact information.

A mind is a terrible thing to waste, but your soul is an even bigger loss.

Greatness is in all of us. Make it for the good of everyone.

My contact information is: wordofaction@gmail.comor nvention09@yahoo.com

God Bless

Posted by: irenesroth | August 26, 2016

Ashby Bland-Book Review

51t6wQyFZGL._SS300_[1]The Girl Who Tried to Catch the Moon
By: Ashby Bland

This is a wonderful picture book for kids of all ages about dreaming big, being persistent and not giving up, as well as developing our imagination.

This is a book about a young girl who goes to sleep and starts dreaming about the moon. She gets up and the moon is full and radiant, lighting up her whole room. She then goes outside to look at it more closely. But it is so glorious and beautiful that she wants to catch it. Her first few attempts didn’t lead to success. But then she did something else, thinking right outside of the box, and it worked!

In addition to all the character traits above, this is a story also about problem-solving and self-confidence. The little girl knew what she wanted to do, and she worked hard until she did indeed achieve it. What a great message for kids of all ages.

This book was written by Ashby when she was only four years old. With a rare genius in storytelling, Ashby will definitely have a wonderful writing career ahead of her. The illustrations are vibrant and stunning.

What a great book! I will definitely be recommending it to any child in my immediate community, especially girls. Thank you Ashby for writing such an inspiring book!

5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | August 22, 2016

A WONDERFUL PICTURE BOOK ABOUT CONQUERING FEAR

41FeMmqXefL._SS300_[1]Who Goes There?
L. R. Gray

This is a wonderful children’s book for kids 5 to 9 about how one can conquer fear with the help of God at our side. It also teaches the importance of the love of neighbour and the need to help anyone in need. It is a book that will inspire and strengthen the child as she reads the story.

This is a story within a story. It begins with Grandma telling a story about Uncle Brother whose truck broke down in the middle of a dark and scary road in Linwood, Alabama. Uncle Brother was scared and worried. Then he started hearing strange noises that came closer and closer to him. Were they real? Or was he just scared and his mind was creating these imaginary fears?

What child is not scared of the dark? Add to this that Uncle Brother was all alone in the dark with a broken down truck, being pursued by something loud and rattling, and any kid’s nerves would be on edge to say the least. How does Uncle Brother get himself out of harm’s way and back to his home? Can he get a hold of his fears?

This is a book that will be enjoyed by the younger and older child. It is a book that kids will want to have read and re-read with their parents. It is a book about how to conquer fears, and how we can all be the best that we can be, despite the fact that we are emotional creatures with God’s help.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | August 12, 2016

About JoJo The Dorky Dog

Illustration-COVER-AmyHannah (6)Theme of Book

JoJo is not your everyday, fancy schmancy, purebred canine, but a mutant-mutt with a mish-mash of curious characteristics belonging to different sorts. Throw in a pair of unmatched peepers and a heart as big as the Georgia sky, and you have found a genuine friend who is nothing short of D-O-R-K-Y! In his very first Stillwater Farm Adventure title, “JoJo the Dorky Dog”, JoJo finds himself ready for a different kind of adventure and a new place to call home when his owners decide to move to Alaska. This loveable pooch sets out across the countryside determined to discover where he belongs, and a boy to call his own. He finds everything, and a little more, on his journey to Stillwater Farm.

Target Audience – age range of 6 thru 10.
Publisher – Halo publishing International

Social Media
Twitter: @stillwaterfrm
Instagram: jojostillwaterfarm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/afhannahstillwaterfarm/#

Mailing/Phone Information
Stillwater Farm
PO Box 448
Blackshear, Georgia 31516
(912) 816-5706

afhannah@gmail.com

Book is available for purchase at Amazon & Barnes and Noble.

Here are the Links for Amazon & Barnes and Noble…..

Amazon – JoJo the Dorky Dog

https://www.amazon.com/Jojo-Dorky-Dog-F-Hannah/dp/1612444849/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1470917568&sr=8-1&keywords=jojo+the+dorky+dog

Barnes and Noble – JoJo the Dorky Dog
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/jojo-the-dorky-dog-af-hannah/1124275799;jsessionid=81977F484E1854236EE7C5EA5FCBD878.prodny_store02-atgap01?ean=9781612444840

Information for potential buyer

Whether children are reading for themselves or being read to, it is my desire that each little heart identify with the similarities and differences within their own characters, and the character of God, as they share JoJo’s Adventures on Stillwater Farm. The “Questions to Ponder” section at the end of the story is designed as an interactive aid to spark the imagination and summarize main points in the story. This cute and useful tool aids in developing reading comprehension and retention skills.

Posted by: irenesroth | August 10, 2016

Amy Hannah’s Writing Life

AFHannahAuthorPictureToday, we will learn a lot more about Amy Hannah’s writing Life. Here is a glimpse into this wonderful author!

My Writing Life

For a few seasons, I have had a gaggle of unpublished adventures nesting in my attic. I have both nourished and disciplined these ideas and scribbles. But, it wasn’t until March of this year that I was given the confirmation from God that this particular flock of stories had matured and were now ready to take flight.

When I received that confirmation, I got my “ducks in a row”, and proceeded with the publishing process. The venture has gone much smoother than I expected. The reason I suspect is that the Lord’s hand was behind it.

You have heard the term Godspeed! The publicist asked me to describe my writing life….well, I watch and experience God’s glory and awesomeness unfold throughout every precious day that I am permitted to breathe.

Illustration-COVER-AmyHannah (6)I love to write, and I have to include Him in whatever I do. I believe that HE has given me a platform. “A platform for what?” you ask. Impressing the gospel and the character of God on little hearts – that’s what!

And, did I mention that a generous portion of proceeds will go to benefit various outreaches for children? Exactly how much and to what group will be decided by prayer as the Lord directs.

As followers of Christ, we are instructed to have a heart for the hurting and needy children of this world. “Pure and undefiled religion before our God and Father is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself unstained by the world. James 1:27 HCSB”. So, that’s it.

I am watching and waiting to see what the Lord is going to do with this ministry. I urge you to come along with me on this journey.

It is going to be awesome!

A.F. Hannah,
Scribbler for Jesus

Posted by: irenesroth | August 9, 2016

Meet Amy Hannah

AFHannahAuthorPictureI am thrilled to have Amy Hannah here on my blog today. She is a wonderful author with a children’s book just fresh off the press. 

The book has a very powerful message, as we saw yesterday in my book review of her book that I posted.

Amy welcome to my Blog. Tell us a few things about yourself.

The author of JoJo the Dorky Dog is a witness and follower of Jesus Christ, wife, mother, grandmother and companion of many four-legged creatures. It is her aspiration to be a scribbler of all things pure, good, and true to glorify God and His Kingdom.

What is your favorite book and author?

My favorite book, authored by my favorite writer, Judy Blume, is “Are you there God? It’s Me, Margaret.”

Illustration-COVER-AmyHannah (6)What inspired you to want to write your book/series?

The Stillwater Farm Adventure series is based on inspiration from Psalms 23. The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters….. Stillwater Farm was born!

Our Lord, He has a plan for our lives. In the wake of technology it seems that our senses are not in sync with that God, the very creator of the universe, is in our everyday midst. And that it is His sovereignty that carefully knits our circumstances to form the reality that has been His plan before the beginning of time. In this lighthearted and colorful story, JoJo the Dorky Dog recognizes that we, as children of God, are never alone. He is always by our side.

Current writing projects:

JoJo Meets Goali-ath (pronounced Goliath) the Ginormous! About being a real friend
Reader or Not? JoJo Gets Glasses!- About stereotypes and the benefits of hard work
JoJo’s Day Out! About peer pressure and consequences
Izzy Lizzy in a Tizzy! About everybody being valuable and having a purpose – and purposes change.
JoJo’s Turtle Surprise! About endurance and accountability
Always Room for One More! About love and acceptance of others

What can readers expect to get from this book

It is my prayer that through the encounters with JoJo the Dorky Dog and the other imperfect characters on Stillwater Farm, that children will entertain a new understanding – in a lighthearted way – of Christian characteristics and how to live them out by example of simple stories.

Thank you for being here on my blog! I am truly honoured to have gotten to know you a bit more.

For readers of my blog, please stay tuned as I feature Amy Hannah for two weeks here on my blog!

Please visit to learn a lot more about Amy Hannah in the days ahead!

Until then!

Irene S. Roth

Illustration-COVER-AmyHannah (6)A Stillwater Farm Adventure:
JoJo the Dorky Dog
By A. F. Hannah

This is a wonderful picture book for kids 3 to 8 with a powerful message. The message is that God is always watching over all of us—so we don’t have to be afraid.

The story starts with JoJo being in a bit of a dilemma: can he stay with his current parents and move to Alaska where it is cold and he had to live in igloos where icicles would hang off his little nose? He instead wanted to live in the country, where it was quiet and where it wasn’t cold.

So, he went off on an adventure to get to his ideal place. He ran into many obstacles along the way, some of which scared him terribly. But JoJo persevered with God’s help who made sure that he was safe wherever he went.

In fact, God was taking care of him throughout his whole life. When he was a tiny pup, he was first adopted by a nice couple who took care of him. And he was grateful for where God has led him to now. Despite the fact that he felt a bit dorky, JoJo was still loved by God just the way he was. In fact, God made him this way for a purpose. So, JoJo celebrated who he was.

Then one day after traveling far, he came to his ideal countryside. It was quiet and people were friendly. Then one boy noticed JoJo and suddenly he had another forever home at Stillwater Farm. He was happy in his new abode. The family was kind, and the family had children too! He didn’t have to be lonely anymore!

This is a super-cute picture book that kids will love and read over and over. The book also has questions for reflection and ease of comprehension of the story. I will definitely recommend the book to every child in my church community.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | July 26, 2016

Brandi: Book Review

415lHdL0enL[1]Brandi: In Pursuit
By Madison Windsong

This is a wonderful suspense novel that is full of thrill and pizazz and it is written by a woman! What a treat!

This is a story about a very strong woman who doesn’t need a man to help her. Neither does she need to be rescued. She is fine on her own, and even thrives.

Brandi Wein is anything but a pushover. She is armed with the task of stopping a terrorist cell committed to blowing up the United Nations. Brandi is part of an all-female top-secret agency. Brandi has one week to find and stop the bad buys. Then she will receive her paycheck of $50,000. Can she do it?

This story is unique in that it is true to life. It feels so much like I am eerily part of the story, and every reader will feel the same as she reads the story. I felt as if I needed to know how things turned out. It was like I felt a vested interest in finding out how the story was going to end up.

But the best part of the book for me was how strong Brandi was. Women don’t have to be dependent on men to be strong. They can be strong themselves and they are quite capable of greatness without the help of men.

This book will keep the attention of every reader. It is filled with action and a lot of suspense. Every page leaves more questions and fewer answers. It is a book that I will read and reread for a long time.
The events in the story take the reader and almost hold her hostage until the last word on the last page is read.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

71dZvYKAAwL[1]35 Pounds
By D.V. Nelson

This is a wonderfully inspiring true story about a single Dad who goes through so much in life and finally gets his life back and is able to enjoy it and finally find.

Nelson’s story is moving and will resonate with a lot of single dads. It is story that will move you to live your best life, but to also realize that you can’t live a peaceful and happy life without the help of God. God really has a master plan for all of us. All we have to do is accept God’s plan for us.

Nelson was not without his trials in life: his job as a Texas Highway Patrolman was difficult because he worked long hours under difficult conditions, had kids to raise and take care of, and tried to do his best. But despite his valiant efforts to do this best, he felt in his heart that there was something missing in his life, especially as he hit some of the hardest spots in his life. He had no idea what his future would be like.

But then something really amazing happened. Nelson turned to God with all of his worries and to put them into his hands. After Nelson did that, he was able to accept and deal with whatever came his way. He finally was able to see that with God beside him, he could handle anything that came his way.

What a wonderful and heart-warming story. I just love happy endings especially when an individual goes through so much! Thank you for such an honest and open book. Readers, and especially single Dads, will be transformed by it.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | June 2, 2016

A poignant story about drug addiction

Struggling for Life
By Clarita Sierra and Alejandro Sierra

This is a very touching and heart-warming book about the tragedies of drug addiction and how hard it is to leave the habit behind.

This is book is about Alejandro Sierra’s journey through addiction. The story shows first-hand the pain and heartbreak that parents feel when their son was addicted to drugs. There is a powerlessness that comes over parents, one that can be soul destroying over time. This is especially the case when they lose their son to addiction.

This book will be of help to all parents who are undergoing similar circumstances. It is always great to know that you are not alone and that other people also struggle from similar difficulties when coping with a child who is addicted to drugs.

Addiction cannot be underestimated. Alex shows the reader how hard this is through his open and honest story and letters in this book. He shows how he struggled for life, and how his family really tried to help him.

I believe that one of the important themes of this book is that with the help from professionals and family, teens can overcome drug addiction. It is not something that has to consume them for the rest of their lives. We all have a choice to make our lives addiction-free. But we have to want to achieve this.

I loved this book! I think it is a book that is important for our times, given the ubiquity of drugs in the lives of our teens. Thank you, Alex, you have touched my heart very deeply as a reader.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Older Posts »

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers