Posted by: irenesroth | November 17, 2015

Talasi: A GREAT Picture Book for Kids

61kBhJMjldL._SS300_[1]Talasi: A Story of Tenderness and Love
By: Ellen S. Cromwell
Illustrations by: Desiree Sterbini

This is a wonderful story for children about love, loss and new beginnings. It is a book that children will be able to relate to and understand as they journey through life.

Children get so close to their grandparents. Talasi was no exception. She spent a lot of time with her grandmother on a mesa in Arizona. She loved the peace and quiet of her home and she loved her grandmother. One day her life changed forever and she had to move to the city. Not only did she lose her grandmother who she loved with all her heart but she also had to adapt to a new school and start a life in a large city.

Talasi was very resilient and she did make a new life for herself. Talasi does this by remembering the stories and songs that her grandmother shared with her. She carries her grandmother in her heart every day and that gets her through the tough times.

The illustrations in this book are absolutely awesome and inspiring. I have never seen a children’s book with quite so much detail and splendid color which brings the story to life. The art work is also very expressive.

What a GREAT book for children! It is a picture book that will be enjoyed by children and adults of all ages for many years.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | October 27, 2015

Bode the Beach Dog – GREAT Picture Book For Kids

61oHWQzpS0L._SS300_[1]This is a wonderful picture book for kids with an important message about building self-confidence. And this is a very important topic for kids today.

This is a story about a dog named Bode. You see, he lives on the beach. But he will not go into the water. He is afraid of it, and he avoids it like the plague until one day he has to rescue a dog that is about to drown. Once he plunges in to save the dog, he realizes that it is not so bad to be in the water. Finally, he overcomes his fear.

This book will show kids how to overcome their fears. We all have fears, and when we face them we will feel much more in control and self-confident. And we can all especially be able to get control over our fears if we just stretch ourselves to help someone else in need.

This is an adorable picture book for kids. The illustrator also does a splendid job bringing the story to life for kids. The book also ends with a note to parents on how to overcome fears and anxiety. This page has tidbits of wisdom that parents need to remember if they have a child who is anxious and fearful.

Thank you Tara and Geoffrey Moser for such a wonderful book! I will be talking about your book to all the parents that I know who have young children.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | October 13, 2015

Bella Eve Book Review

61KZjjPGlUL._SS300_[1]This is a wonderfully inspiring picture book about a rescue dog and how she graced everyone’s life by her resiliency and unceasing love, including her daddy’s life in the final stages of cancer.

This is a story about Bella Eve. She was born on August 21st, 2013 along with her three siblings. Her first home was in a dangerous neighborhood and her mommy and daddy didn’t properly care for her and her siblings. So, the police took them away and they were brought into a shelter.

They stayed at the rescue for six weeks. They all hoped that they would be adopted by a loving family who would give them a forever home. One day, Bella Eve got her wish and a kind loving family came to pick her up. However, she was sad to leave her siblings. But somehow she thought it would be okay.

She found out later that she was a birthday gift for her daddy who was dying of cancer. Bella Eve believed that all would go well. But as her daddy got sicker and sicker, she continued loving him and wishing that he would get well soon. But sadly things only got worse, and one day, her daddy didn’t come back. She was very sad. But she still tried to be hopeful and carry on, despite some sad days.

This book will be enjoyed by younger and older children alike. It is a book that shows the value of resiliency and how one little puppy showed everyone that life is really what you make it. Thank you Kasey for such a wonderful picture book!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | September 23, 2015

Hope and Oxygen-Book Review

41VZ642hJ7L._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_[1]Hope and Oxygen
By Katie Kelley Detmer

Hope and Oxygen is a very inspiring and moving book about one single mother’s attempt at creating a good and fulfilling life for herself and her kids. It is a story that will capture the reader’s attention and hold it as she goes through all the ups and downs that she faced over the years.

Katie’s first marriage sadly ended in divorce. Katie like many women who had difficult upbringings found it difficult to choose a proper partner. But she did learn what true love was over time and was able to give her kids a good upbringing that was filled with sports and many activities that taught them many important lessons. Katie makes sure that they ended up being very successful.

Katie learned a lot of important lessons along the way on her journey through life. She learned that the perfect guy doesn’t make life better. Nor does the perfect hair or perfect car. You are the one who can make things better and not repeat past mistakes. You must learn to overcome one moment at a time, one obstacle at a time, and one dream at a time.

Katie believes that life is not a destination; it is about the journey. Life is also about the people we meet and the friends that we cultivate. We have a choice to create happiness and experience life to the fullest. We will encounter disappointment along the way, but how we handle hardships will reveal our character. We all have stories, and some of us have painful stories. But Katie believes that we should never give up but we should find the will to go on. What a hopeful message for women!

Thank you, Katie for such a wonderfully hopeful and inspiring book. I truly admire your journey and I will pass your book on to all the women that I know who are currently struggling with difficulties of different kinds.

Rating: 5 stars

Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | August 28, 2015

Don’t Stop Believing

711bIKU7EKL[1]Don’t Stop Believing: Our Journey With Cancer
By: Kasey Crawford Kellem

This is an important memoir for anyone who is caring for a family member or friend who has been diagnosed with cancer. This book is inspiring and courageous in the face of a disease that is very often relentless.

It is hard to live with someone who has incurable cancer much less take care of them with all of the ups and downs that cancer typically throws. It takes courage and perseverance as well as an incredible belief that this too shall pass. This kind of upbeat attitude and faith can make living with cancer much more bearable. And it makes it far easier for the family to face the impending death of the person who is fighting this journey with cancer.

Cancer can steal anyone’s joy. Let’s face it there is nothing good about the disease itself and how it robs an individual of vitality and well-being. However, if we could grow as a result of seeing someone endure the battle of this disease, we are truly blessed. And this is precisely what Kasey has done with honours.

The main purpose of this memoir has been to show individuals who are unfortunately afflicted with cancer along with their caregivers that despite the diagnosis, and the possible incurable nature of the disease, we still have the choice to either moan and complain all the time and curse the gods or embrace and celebrate the remaining days of our lives and treat them as a true gift. Kasey and her husband Craig chose to celebrate and believe to the bitter end.

Thank you for such a wonderfully inspiring book. I will pass the book along to all my friends who have cancer and are currently struggling because they are bitter. You are such an example of how to mourn with grace.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | July 27, 2015

Two Faces of Me

41lYEn+eDOL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_[1]Two Faces of Me
By M. L. Donnellan

Two Faces of Me is a must-read for all women who have doubted their self-worth. Let’s face it many women suffer from low self-esteem their entire lives. And, there is something about being an adolescent girl that makes one feel especially vulnerable, making it hard to overcome these feelings of inadequacy. Donnellan’s book will help any woman accept herself completely and stop comparing herself to every other woman.

We all want to be accepted and loved. And some women will do anything to be accepted because deep down they feel so inadequate. Yet, it seems that the harder we try, the worse we end up feeling about ourselves. Donnellan believes that each of us has two different faces that we show the world: the outer face that attempts to measure up to what we believe are the expectations of others and the inner face often based on how we really feel about ourselves. Sophie is a reflection of the inner me that struggles to see myself as God sees me, not as others see me, or even as I see myself.

Many women have a very critical Sophie inside. They see themselves as ugly, fat, unsociable, and unable to be loved by others. We want to look our best so that our appearance does not detract from who we really are, or who we really think we are. But no matter how hard we work on our outside image, our inside image doesn’t change. To really change from the inside and feel more adequate, we have to work on accepting ourselves. Donnellan’s book will help all women to achieve a much more loving stance towards themselves from the inside out.

This is a gem of a book by a woman who has felt the crippling effects of low self-esteem in her life but who is proof that every woman can gain more self-esteem and feeling more adequate about themselves by focusing on who she is inside and becoming who God intended her to be instead of looking outside of who she truly is to find comfort and self-esteem.

Thank you for such a GREAT and inspiring book! I wish I would have read your book when I was younger.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | June 26, 2015

Overcoming Obstacles in Diabetic Cooking

Overcoming Obstacles in Diabetic Cooking
By Matthew W. Miller

Matthew Miller’s wonderful book will educate as well as enlighten the reader about how to eat well and exercise if one is a diabetic. It is hard for most of us to eat right. It is far easier to eat fast and pre-packaged foods. And it is especially hard to prepare healthy food if we have a chronic illness, such as diabetes. But it is possible to do so by taking a few concrete steps and change a few bad habits.

Miller’s book presents tips for overcoming obstacles in diabetic cooking. His tips will also answer important questions that we may have about how to exercise even if you can’t use bar bells because we are disabled, it is raining or snowing, and it is too hot or cold outside. Exercise is very important for our health because it balances blood sugar.

In addition, The Activities for People with Diabetes section includes a healthy food and cooking word search and crossword puzzle. It is a unique way to learn about food and cooking. What is also unique about Miller’s book is that he includes Bible verses and resources for his Christian readers. There is also a section about where to get help if we need it.

Miller has Cerebral Palsy and yet he finds ways to eat healthy and exercise. So, we have no excuse not to eat healthy and exercise either. All we have to do is to change a few of our mindsets and habits. Miller dispels all the mysteries of doing this and makes it easy to follow his recipes. Thank you for such a GREAT and inspiring book!

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | April 29, 2015

A GREAT Book for Women and Adolescent Girls


The Little Girl Inside: Owning my Role in my Own Pain
By: Tonya Barbee

This book is a must-read for all adolescent girls and women. It is a treasure throve of honesty and encouragement. Tonya’s heart-breaking honesty and sincerity comes out in every word that she writes in the book. Get ready to be amazed and learn a lot of lessons.

What woman hasn’t felt like Tonya has? I know her book speaks to me and I can now see how I made some of my key mistakes own life at key junctures. Yes, when you only listen to that little girl inside, she could lead you through pastures unknown, and most of them are wrong sadly. Perhaps this is because that little girl inside us is over zealous and hopeful. She doesn’t have a care in the world. She can’t think rationally and is completely enthralled by life. This is what makes her great, but when it comes to choosing the right spouse it could set women up for a life of misery and heartache.

Tonya knows hardship and she knows how to be hurt over and over again. She has been in several painful and futile relationships. But she learned so much about herself through this difficult process. I wish that things would be easier for women. But women are naturally intuitive creatures who rely on that inner voice which can be quite immature and hopeful. The trick is to balance that inner voice with the more mature voice that we experience. But it takes a lot of heartache before we can do that consistently, as Tonya shows in her very insightful and honest book!

Thank you Tonya for such a GREAT book! You have inspired me and showed me that I could learn from my pat mistakes and create the life that I deserve without abusive people in my life. We all deserve to have a happy life.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | April 18, 2015

Stupidparty Book Review

A1bpjFLqQRL._SL1500_[1]Stupidparty: Math vs. Myth
Unmasking the Destructive Forces Eroding American Democracy
By Patrick Andendall

This book is for the political-minded reader. The book is detailed and the reader will learn a lot about the Republican Party. It is a book that I couldn’t book down because of how detailed and interesting it was.

One of the motivations for the book is the negative way that the Republican Party has been viewed by people lately. The party has unfortunately equated intelligence and education with being elite. They seem to believe that smart people look down on everyone else and especially the Republicans. In making such a comment, they devalue education and drive a division between two classes of Americans, those who are educated, and those who are not. Once that is accomplished, it seems possible to make being stupid a benefit and choosing emotions over fact. It seems that regular guys don’t believe in science. They believe in God and country instead not like the well-educated elites.

But these are all lies according to Andendall. In saying these things they have polarized this country into two classes. It seems that a madness and ignorance has taken over the party sadly. Andendall organizes his argument into the big questions the American people face such as, climate change, the economy, terrorism and so on. Each section gives a solid, fact-based commentary on the problems, and in each case he tries to undermine the Republican lies with facts. He even provides direct links to the sources so that it is simple for the reader to look them up if they are reading the book on a Kindle reader.

Andendall shows how easy it is to manipulate people. I find this truly sad as one would wish that people formed their own level-headed opinions on matters that are of central importance to their lives. But it seems that people are emotionally swayed, and sometimes the more outrageous the views that are advocated over the media, the more people are apt to believe them.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I will be recommending the book to a lot of my reading friends and colleagues who are interested in political issues and especially the Republican Party.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Posted by: irenesroth | April 9, 2015

Bahama Love

71Pw5lPV+mL._SL1000_[1]     This is a wonderful romance novel about the Bahamas with many important lessons along the way.  The book is written beautifully and will transport the reader into the Bahamas where it is very warm and passions run high.

The story is about an American Nathan Cooper and Riley Clark who both live in the Bahamas. Nathan’s family owns a multi-billion dollar resort company. However, one would think that life might be a tad easier if one had this much money. But it wasn’t at all. On the contrary, Nathan found that having this much money actually complicated his love life beyond belief.

However, what became even more apparent to Nathan is that as soon as women found out that he had a lot of money, they immediately thought that they had found their sugar daddy. This made any relationship with women very complicated and women ran to Nathan for all the wrong reasons. True love was almost impossible to find, and trust was constantly a thing sought but never quite found. Riley is a Bahamian career-driven woman.  Nathan and Riley meet on an airplane. She is a bank manager and she has many issues with love too. She needs to learn to trust before she could fall in love. Yet, Nathan doesn’t seem to be sending her the types of messages that she needs to make sure that she doesn’t get hurt. Yet, it seems that Nathan and Riley can have a great relationship.  Can they overcome their issues so that they allow the relationship to blossom into something long-lasting?

I love romantic fiction and read in this genre quite often. This book won’t disappoint if the reader is interested in this kind of story. In addition, it is a story that will capture the attention of every reader. And it will also encourage the reader to plan a trip to the Bahamas too. The Bahamas sound wonderful and a place that I will definitely put on my bucket list.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

Older Posts »



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers